We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little place, delicious Mexican!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Magpie & Stump

Magpie & Stump
203 Caribou St, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada
403-762-4067
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #50 of 123 restaurants in Banff
Price range: $9 - $23
Cuisines: Dessert, Mexican, International, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great little place, delicious Mexican!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014 NEW

We found this place following a recommendation from a local in Jasper. They don't take reservations but we started with a drink at the bar and were seated within 10 minutes. The atmosphere was great, really lively with the tone being set by the owner at the door greeting and seating everyone.
My pina colada was gooooood and severed in a Mason jar which I loved. The food we had, guacamole with chips to start followed by pulled pork enchiladas and buffalo burrito were just amazing, and the bill was very reasonable indeed.
We would definitely go again,

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

71% Recommend
    39
    38
    21
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Stettler, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Best mexican in a long time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014 NEW

Lime margaritas are great! Food was awesome. Kind of pricey but not bad for Banff! Will definitely go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haddon Heights, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“One of the only reasonable places in Banff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

The food was good. The price, for Banff, was reasonable, but not for a non-tourist area. The atmosphere was excellent and felt like you were in the wild west as opposed to the Canadian Rockies. The service was incredibly slow--reaaalllly slooooowwww-but the restaurant was packed.

Were I to return to Banff, I can't say for sure I'd return here--but if I did, it would mainly be because the other restaurants are grossly overpriced.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Havasu City, Arizona
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Reasonable price, especially for Banff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

My husband and I stopped in for dinner. The interior has a rustic look about it and the tables are quite crammed together. But it was full of people. I had the taca platter and my husband had fahitas. I tried the beef and the chicken tacos. The chicken was superior in flavor in my opinion. The fahitas were a little slim on the chicken so as a result I had to relinquish one of my tacos to my husband. If the fahitas had been a bit more substancial in the protein department, I wuld have given them 4 stars. I felt it was a good deal for the money.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Atmosphere was awesome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Service was exceptional, we really enjoyed our adult family meal here. The male server was very personable....he even took a great famil picture for us!!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Magpie & Stump also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Magpie & Stump? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magpie & Stump, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.