We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Lunch” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Magpie & Stump

Magpie & Stump
203 Caribou St, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada
403-762-4067
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #53 of 122 restaurants in Banff
Price range: $9 - $23
Cuisines: Dessert, Mexican, International, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good Lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 NEW

Pretty authentic Mexican food in of all places, Banff.

Had lunch there and the food was good and the portions were large.

Good guacamole, salsa and chips to start and my wife and I both had the fish tacos. While the fish tacos were good and the portions were large I did think $17 each for 2 fish tacos was a little steep for lunch.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

72% Recommend
    31
    35
    18
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“really good mexican”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 NEW

pleasant surprise! walked in blind expecting a burger joint or something and found the best mexican in town! food was great. only downfall was the stingy portions of seafood in the fish tacos.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Brilliant lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 NEW via mobile

We had lunch here today and loved every bite! We had a table inside the restaurant, a cosy place with lots of dark wood and great little touches ("Wait to be sombrero'd" was a good one). We had the nachos with homemade guacemole and salsa to start and loved it. Afterwards, one had the Banff burrito (wonderful), two of us the vegadilla (heavenly, and not too heavy) and the last one two tacos: one with chicken (the best one) and one with beef. The tacos are quite small, so order a few if you're hungry! I also had the lime-flavoured Mexican lemonade, which was great, while another member of our party had the virgin Margarita - also nice.

We had a wonderful and filling lunch, so I would definitely recommend this restaurant if you're looking for a good Mexican eatery in town!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Interesting and something different in Banff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 NEW

We chose this place out of curiosity. Mexican also sounded good. It's a fun vibrant place. Maybe a bit pricey due to the touristy area. The food was great portions. They have drink specials but the servings are very small.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent meal & service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

The Magpie & Stump was excellent for couples or families. It is very busy and you need to go early as you can't book. It is first come first served basis. Food and staff were excellent. We would highly recommend.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Magpie & Stump also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park

Been to Magpie & Stump? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magpie & Stump, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.