We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Desperado” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Magpie & Stump

Magpie & Stump
203 Caribou St, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada
403-762-4067
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 129 Restaurants in Banff
Price range: $9 - $23
Cuisines: Mexican, International, Dessert, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Castlegar, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Desperado”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Had a great few drinks, Desperado beer and El Jimador shots.....tins of monkey nuts (shell on peanuts) on the bar and you just throw the shells on the floor! Great staff and friendly locals.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    80
    31
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Worth a try. Tex Mex, not Mexican”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

My wife and had lunch here. The menu is typical Tex Mex with nothing remarkable. If you love Tex Mex, this may be the only place in Banff so don’t expect to be blown away. Decent food, and not as expensive as other restaurants in Banff.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ontario, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Some of the best mexican food I've ever had, best in Canada.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Food was excellent and reasonably priced. Service was courteous and speedy. Would easily recommend this restaurant to anyone who likes mexican food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Good tex-mex meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

When we first entered I was a bit leary as it was dark and old looking, but when you sit down you realize it is really not as bad looking as I thought. Our server was very friendly and our food did not take long to arrive. I had chicken quesadilla's and my husband had beef. My grand daughter had tacos. All of our meals were very good and quite filling. I would definitely return to this restaurant.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“A Fun Place for Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

My husband and I used to frequent this restaurant when we lived in Alberta 33 years ago. It was very nostalgic for us to return after all these years and we found it to be bigger but still the same fun, casual, not too expensive place with good Tex/Mex food. The restaurant was full the night we were there and the kitchen became very backed up so the food took a long time. The manager came around and apologized but we were okay. We were enjoying our margaritas and the fun atmosphere of the restaurant. We had some delicious appetizers which kept us happy until the main course finally arrived. As is usually the case with Mexican food, the portions are ample and we thoroughly enjoyed our food. There is a reason that they have stayed in business for over 33 years - it's a good restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Magpie & Stump also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Magpie & Stump? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magpie & Stump, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.