We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a try. Tex Mex, not Mexican” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Magpie & Stump

Magpie & Stump
203 Caribou St, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada
403-762-4067
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #53 of 122 restaurants in Banff
Price range: $9 - $23
Cuisines: Dessert, Mexican, International, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Worth a try. Tex Mex, not Mexican”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

My wife and had lunch here. The menu is typical Tex Mex with nothing remarkable. If you love Tex Mex, this may be the only place in Banff so don’t expect to be blown away. Decent food, and not as expensive as other restaurants in Banff.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

72% Recommend
    34
    36
    18
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, Ontario, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Some of the best mexican food I've ever had, best in Canada.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Food was excellent and reasonably priced. Service was courteous and speedy. Would easily recommend this restaurant to anyone who likes mexican food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good tex-mex meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

When we first entered I was a bit leary as it was dark and old looking, but when you sit down you realize it is really not as bad looking as I thought. Our server was very friendly and our food did not take long to arrive. I had chicken quesadilla's and my husband had beef. My grand daughter had tacos. All of our meals were very good and quite filling. I would definitely return to this restaurant.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“A Fun Place for Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

My husband and I used to frequent this restaurant when we lived in Alberta 33 years ago. It was very nostalgic for us to return after all these years and we found it to be bigger but still the same fun, casual, not too expensive place with good Tex/Mex food. The restaurant was full the night we were there and the kitchen became very backed up so the food took a long time. The manager came around and apologized but we were okay. We were enjoying our margaritas and the fun atmosphere of the restaurant. We had some delicious appetizers which kept us happy until the main course finally arrived. As is usually the case with Mexican food, the portions are ample and we thoroughly enjoyed our food. There is a reason that they have stayed in business for over 33 years - it's a good restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“in Texas this would be average but my girl friend liked it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I grew up in Texas so I am very familiar with Mexican food. Unlike Tex-Mex restaurants in Texas, Magpie & Stump did not serve complimentary chips and salsa. When we asked, the waiter did give us peanuts to snack on. The ice tea was sweet and the waiter did brew some fresh tea for us which was unsweetened. My girl friend wanted the burrito without the tortilla but with extra vegetables which was prepared correctly, but someone forgot to bring us the salad and waffle fries which come with the burrito dish. We also forgot about it until we left the restaurant. I had fish tacos which were tasty except for the rice which was crunchy rather than soft. Compared to Tex-Mex restaurants in Texas, this was an average restaurant. El Toro or Coyote Grill in Banff have two or three Mexican dishes, and are better restaurants, but Magpie & Stump’s menu has the largest selection of Mexican dishes in Banff. My girl-friend liked it because it had free peanuts, it was cozy and casual, and the waiter was friendly. She rates it a 4 out of 5.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Magpie & Stump also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Magpie & Stump? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magpie & Stump, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.