We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Beaujolais

Le Beaujolais
212 Buffalo St, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B5, Canada
403 762-2712
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Le Beaujolais is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 124 Restaurants in Banff
Price range: $22 - $40
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Banff Avenue
Transit: Across from Restauran on Banff Avenu & Buffalo Street
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Romantic meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

After spending a day of shopping in
Banff with my better half, it was a pleasure to sit down and enjoy the fine food at this establishment. The restaurant is on the second floor and has a great view of the area. The atmosphere was pleasant and quiet and the service was excellent. The Dover sole was nicely done and the veal was a real treat.The wine selection was fantastic. I look forward to visitng this restaurant again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    26
    25
    11
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
london
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Oh oh dear ..,,,,,,,”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

I am not usually prone to over dramatic reviews but am increasingly frustrated by the appalling food I am
paying for in this resort.
This dated restaurant had a menu with plenty of inviting options ., however the reality was much less interesting.
Two lobster bisques lacked the depth and flavour ( not to mention being lukewarm) that makes this soup worthwhile . Silver service offering did not make up for pale commercial baguette .
Another starter of bone marrow had to be sent back as the marrow was pink and liquid .
A Dover sole ceremoniously arrived table side In a state of advanced rigour mortis and minus head and tail ( so why the ceremony ? ) surrounded by too many sautéed mushrooms and flabby carrot and mange tout . The crowning glory was half a lemon which had being cut some hours / days before as it was dried up and unpleasant .Our guest managed to mange rien and called the manager who was apologetic but had no answers .
The other main course which warrants mention was a strange looking 1.5 cm thick filet mignon ...
The manager removed charges for these dishes which was fair but still does not deal with the problem at this restaurant .....the cooking is appalling .
The wine was delicious .

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A wonderful dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

This was one of the best French restaurants I have taste. The service was great and my rib eye steak was cook to the way I like it. The atmosphere was great. Would go back again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Unbelievable ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

We had the 6 course surprise meal and i have to say it was the most creative, full of flavor, and well worth the price meal I have ever experienced!! The service was top notch and a beautiful view beside the mountains. The wine selection was incredible! We recommend this restaurant for a romantic supper in Banff !!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff, Canada
1 review
“Banff's best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

We spent a delightful evening in this great Banff restaurant. We were spoiled by a delicious 3-course dinner and Elly, our waitress took great care of us. We can highly recommend the Beaujolais restaurant and are looking forward to our next visit, L&P

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Beaujolais also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Le Beaujolais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Beaujolais, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.