We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food and memories” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Beaujolais

Le Beaujolais
212 Buffalo St, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B5, Canada
403 762-2712
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Le Beaujolais is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 121 restaurants in Banff
Price range: $22 - $40
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Banff Avenue
Transit: Across from Restauran on Banff Avenu & Buffalo Street
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Amazing food and memories”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Our family of cousins met in Banff for a visiting weekend. We hadn't seen each other since our Grandmother passed. It was a very special weekend to get reacquainted and just enjoy each other's company. The restaurant was suggested to us by the concierge in our hotel and it was perfect. We arrived at 7:00 and we left at 11:00 - what a night of eating, chatting and nice wine. The food was so amazing, the prices were extraordinary for the quality of service and food. My cousin had the 6 course surprise dinner and we all enjoyed seeing what she was getting and she was very satisfied with the choices. The Professional Waiter (from Waterloo ONT. :)) was really the icing on the cake. He made the evening that much more special with his excellent suggestions, funny comments and just overall amazing service. Thank you to all who made the evening so wonderful!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    105
    22
    25
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A True Taste of France in Banff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Le Beaujolais is my favourite restaurant in Banff for a fine dining experience. Not only is the food fantastic but the service is truly superb. The atmosphere is quiet and conducive to conversation. We never feel rushed although by European standards it would still be considered a little too quick (1.5 hrs from aperitif to dessert). Our only quibble was that the wine was overpriced, even by Banff standards. They do a great job of presentation and make sure your table's meals come out together and remove the domed covers at the exact same time. The steak tartare was delicious as were our mains of AAASteak and Filet Mignon. The caramelized pear with fleur de sel and caramel icecream must be tasted to be believed. The quality of the food and the service made us feel like we were back in France.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff National Park, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A celebration for the senses”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We went to the Beaujolais to celebrate our wedding anniversary, ....and what a celebration it was! We ordered the six course surprise menue and were in awe with every single course. Service, presentation, creativity, choice of ingredients, flavours were all outstanding. Every course was splendidly paired with a complementing wine. All in all a true celebration for the senses!!!

Eva and Paul Sylvestre
Nature in Focus Hiking Co.
Banff, AB

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Le Beaujolais was great but...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

We showed up for out 9PM reservation on a Friday night. We ordered a couple martinis and the foie gras appetizer. The appetizer was easily the highlight of the meal. For our main course we ordered the duck breast and an Alberta New York strip. Duck was above and beyond our expectations. However, the chef totally missed it on the steak. It was overcooked and the sides were below average on this dish. I informed the server of this, and it was immediately taken care of. If I had to do it over again I would have gotten the six course surprise meal. We saw other people being served and the meal looked amazing.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Always a treat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

My first visit to "The Beauj" (as I've learned the locals call it) was back in 2004. There again today I enjoyed a great atmosmosphere, wonderful staff and fantastic quality for money spent. It's easy to spend 30+ at for a plate at any given restaurant these days, but hard to find food AND service that live up to the money speant. As a wine lover, the wine list made me feel warm and fuzzy inside. The 2001 Ch. Musar was a offered at a better than great price and I was all over it. Having a drink with the owner at the end of the night was an added bonus! Thanks Beaujolais!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Beaujolais also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Le Beaujolais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Beaujolais, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.