We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service was excellent food and drink fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Beaujolais

Le Beaujolais
212 Buffalo St, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B5, Canada
403 762-2712
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Le Beaujolais is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 123 Restaurants in Banff
Price range: $22 - $40
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Banff Avenue
Transit: Across from Restauran on Banff Avenu & Buffalo Street
Calgary
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Service was excellent food and drink fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We have visited this restaurant on many occasions over the last 12 years. We were there for our anniversary dinner. We choose the 6 course surprise dinner with wine paring. The meal as always was incredible. What made this visit very memorable was our waitress Tallulah. Her knowledge of the wines that were served with each course was excellent as was her presentation of the meal itself, her description of each course and how the wine matched with it was bang on. She knew when to be at the table and chat and when to leave. Her spacing of the different courses was very good. We will definitely return again and we really hope Tallulah is working there. We had recently gone to Oregon with good friends for a wine tasting vacation and we were excited to see wines from this area on the wine list.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    111
    26
    25
    11
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Always a great choice for a special night out!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

We celebrate our anniversary every year with a dinner out. We've chosen Le Beaujolais several times and it never disappoints! We get the surprise dinner, often with the wine pairing (if we have a designated driver - it's a lot of wine!). The food quality is excellent and service is great. Fine Dining at its best.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“What a surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We were looking for something other than steak and ribs and chanced on this hidden restaurant by chance. There are two ways in on different streets and it majors on the fine dining experience. However the Bistro is excellent. We had Beef Bourginoin Pie and a fish dish. They were both absolutely excellent but best of all it was a relaxed meal without the "bums on seats" mentality. Highly recommended. The only downside was the classical radio station they were piping around which was too loud.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Very French, very good.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Excellent atmosphere, bit formal, but everyone dressed casual. Very good food, wine was a a bit French only, but we managed to find a nice one. Service was over-whelmingly helpful to satr and trailed off towards the end, but to be fair, we'd had our mains. Book.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent In Every Category”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

My wife and I decided to indulge into the six-course surprise since we don't get out much and wow were we amazed. From the service to the food everything was what we hoped for. Would definitely recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for a nice night out, or celebrating a special occasion (The gentleman at the table next to us proposed). Make sure to get the surprise!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Beaujolais also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Le Beaujolais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Beaujolais, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.