We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Banff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Beaujolais

Le Beaujolais
212 Buffalo St, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B5, Canada
403 762-2712
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Le Beaujolais is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 124 Restaurants in Banff
Price range: $22 - $40
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Banff Avenue
Transit: Across from Restauran on Banff Avenu & Buffalo Street
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Best in Banff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

If you are looking for a beautiful place to have a lovely dinner with very good food, choose Le Beaujolais. Ask for a table near a window and enjoy the views. I would have rated it excellent except that I found the food a little too salty and the music. The atmosphere calls for a little classic French (Piaff, Chevalier, Trenet) or Italian, not classics of the 60s and 70s.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    26
    25
    11
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“To Die For”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

The restaurant was warm, inviting. The food was cooked to perfection. My requests were carried out without hesitation, as I have some allergies. The wine recommendation was right on! And the prices were extremely reasonable given the vintages. Lastly the service was warm, formal but at ease. Overall an enjoyable experience and I shall be back often!!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“French cuisine at its finest .”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend came here , and had thee most amazing meal, and wine . I, being French myself , wanted my boyfriend to have a truely authentic French meal . He loved it! Our waiter Phil, was on point with every wine pairing and suggestion. I highly recommend going to le Beaujolais for true French cuisine . Thanks Phil!! We will see u again :)

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful Fine Dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Le Beaujolais offers a wonderful special dining experience. We love the ambiance, the view, and the way the restaurant is managed. Once a year we treat ourselves to the 6 course surprise menu, and do the wine pairing. It was very tasteful, presented beautifully, and more importantly, timed perfect. When we arrived the restaurant was just recovering from serving a tour group of 64, but they still managed to seat us quickly, however we were very happy we were not 30 minutes earlier. Large dining tour groups are very typical in Banff, and I recommend if you are reserving to check if they have such an event the evening you want to go, almost anywhere.
I loved that our server was a Canadian girl, who was energetic and served several tables perfectly, and clearly understood the concept of good service, and fine dining. This is something we see slipping in Banff restaurants and shops, with so many foreign workers who seem to have missed the company seminar on customer service. Oh well - LOVE BANFF, very proud of it, and it is just a short drive away. LeBeaujolais is a wonderful special occassion choice, especially for couples.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Dinner for two with a view.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We ate there and had 4 appetizers and 1 entree that my wife and I shared. The French Onion soup was very good, not too salty like it often is in other restaurants. The Esgargot came with little puffed pasty balls, really good to soak up that yummy garlic butter. Coconut shrimp came with a dip but they tasted so good the dip was barely used. I was craving fried (been on diet so no fries for a long time) and they were so crunchy and delicious, I ate most of them myself. Our single entree was PEI mussels. It comes in a little cast iron pot with a lid and they are steamed with a garlicy broth. No shortage of flavour.

The view of the park next to the bow river and the mountain makes for a very nice dinner. We will eat there again.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Beaujolais also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Le Beaujolais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Beaujolais, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.