We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic views with good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Beaujolais

Le Beaujolais
212 Buffalo St, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B5, Canada
403 762-2712
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Le Beaujolais is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #18 of 128 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $22 - $40
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Banff Avenue
Transit: Across from Restauran on Banff Avenu & Buffalo Street
Bury
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“fantastic views with good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We ate in the bistro and had good food and service. The picture windows look out onto the mountains. There was a good choice of courses and wine.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    36
    28
    13
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Disappointing Main”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Let me preface my review by saying I was with a group of 6, and the others were happy with their meals. We were there mid-week, and were basically the only one's in the formal dining area. The serving staff were friendly and polite, but inexperienced, particularly with the wines that they carried. My main issue was with the meal. I ordered the elk osso buco, and it was very disappointing. I've made osso buco, granted not from elk, but their version was tough, and the meat very dense. The other issue, is that it was a gelatinous mess. I really had to dig through the meal to find any meat. Another person at the table ordered the same meal, and their cut was much better, but similar comment - very dense meat, and not a fall off the bone experience. Would not recommend, and would have given less than three stars, but the other diners were satisfied with their meals.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
236 reviews 236 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
“Menu of day makes the price good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

I generally don't like French food as too rich and covered in sauce. But this was very good. Lunch special 14CD Duck confit with fires or caeser salad. the duck had it natural flavor come through. Better than the duck cnfit in France. Potatoe leak soup was as the french like it- a consume and salty. I'd pass on it. the apple tain was crunchy carmal topping and severed with cinamin ice cream.
I won't have particularly eaten here if the duck wasn't on the menu but he food was execellent!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Visited with family welcomed by friendly owner. Lovely service and very accommodating towards families. We had a very enjoyable meal, tasty, well presented with a good wine menu. Rounded the meal off with beautifully cooked creme caramel. Good value for money.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Service with an attitude and food that was next to inedible.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Attended this restaurant as part of a group in town for a conference. Set menus with choice of entre and dessert. As such, got to observe the group's enjoyment of one app, three entres and two desserts. App ( charcuterie) was the best course. Unfortunately was all downhill from there. The lamb was smothered in mustard to the point of being overpowering. The chicken was undercooked and actually bled on the plate. The trout was tasteless and dry. The creme brûlée tasted like scrambled eggs. The other dessert was ice cream, so was fine. When we attempted to express our displeasure, staff actually argued with us. Staff was not at all accommodating. I would NOT recommend this restaurant, as it was quite pricey and food/service did NOT measure up.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Beaujolais also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Le Beaujolais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Beaujolais, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.