We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not just a meal, it's an experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grizzly House Restaurant

Grizzly House Restaurant
207 Banff Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A1, Canada
403-762-4055
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #43 of 128 Restaurants in Banff
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Fondue, cooking done at table on hot stones. Absolutely the best interactive dining with great food. Exotic foods such as elk, bison, venison, alligator, rattlesnake--plus chicken and beef!
Edmonton
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Not just a meal, it's an experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2015 NEW

This is a special place to eat. Pricey, but worth an occasional visit. Even the kids liked it. The special is the best option, including app, main and dessert-all either fondue or hot stone. Meat choice is incredible. The restaurant has a fascinating history, too.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    301
    223
    105
    52
    58
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bowser, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fondue Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015 NEW

We went for an early dinner and had excellent service! The waiter(Ted) gave us good tidbits of information with our 4 course fondue dinner! The Grizzly House serves exotic meats. A one of a kind place to eat!

  • Visited March 2015
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldton, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Its all about the experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015 NEW

Loved it! Group of 6 friends and our first time having a fondue meal. The stuffed mushrooms were amazing! So much food though, so be prepared to pop that top pant button! Must do at least once.

Visited March 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Just once is OK. ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015 NEW

Wouldn't visit there twice or more, just once is enough just to enjoy the atmosphere which is kinda unique. The foods are OK the prices are way expensive than I expected in that area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A Banff must do/eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015 NEW

Grizzly House has a rich history attached to it which makes it a legend in Banff, if you're in Banff you should definitely go, its a tradition. It's got to be the best fondue place i have gone to in a long time, always great when i do go. Its pretty good value for what you pay, you can't expect anything cheap out of Banff in general but you do get a lot of good food for the price.
The staff are wonderful, the experience is great.

I love it, but I suggest you make a reso!

  • Visited March 2015
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grizzly House Restaurant also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Grizzly House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grizzly House Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.