We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eclectic and Wonderful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grizzly House Restaurant

Grizzly House Restaurant
207 Banff Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A1, Canada
403-762-4055
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #51 of 120 restaurants in Banff
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Fondue, cooking done at table on hot stones. Absolutely the best interactive dining with great food. Exotic foods such as elk, bison, venison, alligator, rattlesnake--plus chicken and beef!
Houston
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Eclectic and Wonderful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

It's difficult to express the Grizzly House's atmosphere, you have to experience it firsthand. Plan on coming and enjoying the hot rock dinners, you'll be glad you did!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

68% Recommend
    220
    156
    80
    44
    48
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“I love the Grizzly House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

This place is fabulous - one of our favorites. It is so kitchy and fun, and the service is always great. Don't wear your best clothes - the whole place is filled with smoke and butter and oil sizzling because of the hot rocks and fondues, you will leave smelling like you work at McDonald's, but it's worth it.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“bad experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We had heard good things and were looking forward to a good night. Unfortunatley the waiter who said he was the owner was very rude. we had to wait for 5 minute for someone to even greet us at the seating area and then he was very rude questioning whether we had never been to a restaurant before. When we got to the table it was grubby. The food is simple but we knew what we were ordering and it tasted good. Overpriced for what it was but i guess most places are in Banff.
It was a complete let down and id like to give it another chance but there are so many other better restaurants in Banff its difficult to go back.

if you're looking for a good fondue try 'Grapes' which is based in the Banff springs hotel. They have two different savory fondues as a starter or main course and they also have a chocolate fondue for dessert.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good, but pricey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We had the fondue, which was quite tasty....just not much of it. Started with the cheese fondue, then we shared the Alberta platter (meats) and a seafood platter. I thought it was expensive for what you get, as I left still feeling somewhat hungry. The interior was somewhat dated, but the staff was friendly and helpful. I don't think I would rush back to this restaurant, but I would not say I will never go back either. It was a unique experience, which is what you are looking for when you are on holiday.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A "swing'in" good time!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We had a very nice dinner with friendly and professional staff (thanks Craig!). We chose the complete fondue for 2 (cheese fondue, hot rocks entree and chocolate fondue dessert ). Only 2 slight criticisms... The starter salad had WAY too much dressing, and the background music was inappropriate for the ambience (classic rock - needed to be '70's funk - anyone that knows the history of this establishment will get the reference).

It's a busy place so be sure to make reservations. Be aware that you end up smelling like what you ate so be careful with what you wear.

All in all, it a greats place to indulge in a dining experience whether or not you participate in the "lifestyle"... LoL

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grizzly House Restaurant also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Grizzly House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grizzly House Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.