We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A unique and delicious experience - only in Banff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grizzly House Restaurant

Grizzly House Restaurant
207 Banff Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A1, Canada
403-762-4055
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #55 of 123 restaurants in Banff
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Fondue, cooking done at table on hot stones. Absolutely the best interactive dining with great food. Exotic foods such as elk, bison, venison, alligator, rattlesnake--plus chicken and beef!
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A unique and delicious experience - only in Banff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We love this fondue house! The food is fondue by hot rock or fondue oil. We like the full meal with cheese fondue appetizer, soup or salad (great house dressing), fondue of meat and or seafood and toblerone chocolate and fruit fondue to finish. There are many choices such as exotic meats, lobster, scallops, shrimp, Alberta beef, free range chicken, buffalo, snake and many more. There is an extensive wine (multiple house wines to choose from)and beer list as well as many other beverages. The atmosphere is eclectic with buffalo heads, statues and other stuff all over. Each table has a phone which you can use to call other tables. There is a map of table numbers on the back of the placemat. This isn't your usual chain restaurant with teenage servers. The wait staff here are mature enough to cater to your needs efficiently and provide a fun dining experience. You will need reservations if it's a weekend night. This place is fabulous so it's popular. It's our favorite place to eat in Banff and we've been to almost all of them, including all the high end establishments.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

69% Recommend
    232
    180
    83
    47
    51
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Incheon, South Korea
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Amazing food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

I was told when I visited Banff that I had to try this restaurant; it did not disappoint. I had the Alberta fondue platter on a hot rock (instead of oil) and it was delicious. The meats were delicious morsels and the waiter made sure to check that the rock was still hot enough to cook on. There was also a nice selection of craft beers to choose from. The telephones are the tables make for a nice gimmick (you can call other table) and I wish the restaurant had been busier (it was early in the evening on a Tuesday) so I could play around with other tables. The food wasn't cheap though! This is definitely not something that I could do often, but if you want a good meal in Banff and are willing to splurge, this restaurant is probably right for you.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We went for the first time a couple of years ago, and it did not dissapoint! Neat atmosphere, very rustic! We ordered the 4 course meal, which starts out with soup or salad. We both had the salad and they were awesome. Next came the bread and cheese fondue - delicious and almost filled me up! Next up was the meat. We chose hot rocks so it wouldnt be as oily. My boyfriend had the steak and lobster and he said it was fantastic. I had the hunters dinner, which was buffalo, venison and wild boar. Every bite was so tasty. I dont know how we managed to save enough room for the chocolate fondue for dessert but somehow we scarfed it all down! it was that good. When we left we stunk like a deep fryer and practically had to waddle back to our hotel but it was worth it. Next time we go I would really like to try the exotic meats. How neat would it be to say that you have tried rattlesnake, shark and kangaroo!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fondue Fun”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Great little place in Banff for a fun dinner out. Not stuffy, so dress casual. Beware that EVERYTHING you wear will stink like fondue oil so wear a spare jacket. The hot rock is delicious and if you feel adventurous the exotic fondue is a hit. Telephones on the walls let you call other tables to chat which we had fun with. Overall reliably good.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A must try”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Not what you expect from the outside appearance but definitely worth the gamble. I would recommend trying the exotic fondue option. The whole experience was memorable, what stands out is the unique food and atmosphere.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grizzly House Restaurant also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Grizzly House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grizzly House Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.