We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fondue Fun” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grizzly House Restaurant

Grizzly House Restaurant
207 Banff Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A1, Canada
403-762-4055
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 131 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Canadian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Fondue, cooking done at table on hot stones. Absolutely the best interactive dining with great food. Exotic foods such as elk, bison, venison, alligator, rattlesnake--plus chicken and beef!
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fondue Fun”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Great little place in Banff for a fun dinner out. Not stuffy, so dress casual. Beware that EVERYTHING you wear will stink like fondue oil so wear a spare jacket. The hot rock is delicious and if you feel adventurous the exotic fondue is a hit. Telephones on the walls let you call other tables to chat which we had fun with. Overall reliably good.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,055 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A must try”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Not what you expect from the outside appearance but definitely worth the gamble. I would recommend trying the exotic fondue option. The whole experience was memorable, what stands out is the unique food and atmosphere.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A definite experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We ordered the full, four course meal. We ordered the Alberta, which actually isn't listed on the menu. The cheese fondue really wasn't our favourite, as the wine flavour was quite strong and wasn't really our thing. The meat itself was delicious, and we had a great time cooking it up (even if we stunk when we left from the smoke). The chocolate fondue was also great. We would gladly go back again, but I think that next time we will just skip the 4 course and go with the meat and the chocolate, and just order side salads to start.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TrishRom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
156 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Ho hum”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

It's been a while since we've eaten here and I will be in no rush to return. I had the surf and turf hot rock entree, and I am a lightweight with a large appetite, and was left hungry. As well, my hash brown type potatoes were tepid in temperature--I think the plate has been sitting a while. Moreover, the coffee was awful tasting, albeit I did not was a refill, I was certainly not offered one. My son had the hamburger and he stated it was "decent", but that the onion soup was very good.

My entree was costly for the small portion. The couple beside us who arrived at the same time, ate their fondue and left BEFORE we received our food. Ho hum.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Canukgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“One of my favourite restaurants anywhere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I eat here every time I go to Banff. It is pricy but an incredible and unique dinning experience. The hot rock fondue is incredible. Who would think you can get Alligator in a Rocky Mountain resort town. The Cheese Fondue is incredible. Best staff in Banff and the same people working there for years. That says something in itself for a resort town

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank B G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grizzly House Restaurant also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Grizzly House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing