We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always perfect.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grizzly House Restaurant

Grizzly House Restaurant
207 Banff Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A1, Canada
403-762-4055
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #51 of 121 restaurants in Banff
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Fondue, cooking done at table on hot stones. Absolutely the best interactive dining with great food. Exotic foods such as elk, bison, venison, alligator, rattlesnake--plus chicken and beef!
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Always perfect.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

My favourite reasturant in Canada. I have always said it is worth it to visit Alberta just to try this amazing place. Having loved it while on vacation, and now living in Alberta, I am sure to take every easterner that comes for a visit directly to the Grizzly House!

Whether you are dropping in for a quick fondue or making an evening out of it, you are sure to enjoy yourself. You cannot exit the front door without having the cheese fondue - make sure you add a side of rosti that comes topped with their amazing mushroom gravy!

For those spending the evening, you cannot go wrong doing the whole fondue experience. My boyfriend and I recently visited and had a 4-hour meal, complete with cheese foundue, included salad, main entree choice and of course, toblerone fondue to end! He had the exotic platter, which I recommend if you are feeling adventurous as it is most definitely an experience (and suprisingly tasty!). I stick with the chicken and beef duo, which is grade A meat and delectable. Use the hot oil fondue for the chicken (..think chicken wings) and the hot stone to cook your Alberta beef just the way you like it! Adding drinks (we like to start with cocktails, wine during the main meal and baileys on the rocks to finish), you're looking at over $200 CA, but it is worth it, well worth every penny.

I would do it again and again - and certainley plan to! Make sure to put the Grizzly House on the top of your list when visiting the beautiful Rockie Mountains in Banff, Alberta.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

68% Recommend
    220
    157
    81
    44
    48
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Great food, even my husband tried it and enjoyed it which is great for him! We tried the full fondue experience which I'd recommend. Pricey but worth it.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Alberta
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Amazing fondue!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We have been several times and never dissappointed! Their fondues are truly amazing, especially the hot rock fondues. The staff are superb, the atmospere is interesting and unique. Weekends you will need to make a reservation as they are always packed. If you want something truly different this is the place!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Interesting experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

Well we came here with a large group of friends. It was certainly atmospheric and many had recommended it to us. The food was average, nothing I would say amazing but it was pleasant however you really don't get much for your money!! It is pricey for what is on offer. They certainly have variety and is gimmicky. Service was friendly but a tad slow. Big downside was came out smelling of the place, cooking meat and smoke is very very overwhelming and strong.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Ontario
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Pricey but Worth It!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We had dinner here in November for my daughter's birthday and it was great! The fondue itself is pricey but since we do not do this very often, it was worth it. We ordered the fondue meal which came with a few courses. We ordered the vegetable fondue which we all shared and it was fantastic. For our main meal, we all ordered something different. The most eclectic was the elk, venison and buffalo combo. We actually ordered our food to be cooked on a hot stone instead of in a fondue pot. Way less smoke and we found the stone to be better. You have the option of the oil or hot stone. They give you garlic butter to melt into the stone before you put your meat on and I found this to be a much more enjoyable way to enjoy the meat. We ordered a house wine which was very nice and not very expensive. For desert you are given a chocolate fondue with fruit. We were too full to eat it all but it was delicious and plentiful. The staff were excellent and very friendly. I would definitely recommend this place if you are looking for something fun and different to do.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grizzly House Restaurant also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Grizzly House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grizzly House Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.