We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey but Worth It!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grizzly House Restaurant

Grizzly House Restaurant
207 Banff Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A1, Canada
403-762-4055
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #49 of 122 restaurants in Banff
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Fondue, cooking done at table on hot stones. Absolutely the best interactive dining with great food. Exotic foods such as elk, bison, venison, alligator, rattlesnake--plus chicken and beef!
Oakville, Ontario
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Pricey but Worth It!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We had dinner here in November for my daughter's birthday and it was great! The fondue itself is pricey but since we do not do this very often, it was worth it. We ordered the fondue meal which came with a few courses. We ordered the vegetable fondue which we all shared and it was fantastic. For our main meal, we all ordered something different. The most eclectic was the elk, venison and buffalo combo. We actually ordered our food to be cooked on a hot stone instead of in a fondue pot. Way less smoke and we found the stone to be better. You have the option of the oil or hot stone. They give you garlic butter to melt into the stone before you put your meat on and I found this to be a much more enjoyable way to enjoy the meat. We ordered a house wine which was very nice and not very expensive. For desert you are given a chocolate fondue with fruit. We were too full to eat it all but it was delicious and plentiful. The staff were excellent and very friendly. I would definitely recommend this place if you are looking for something fun and different to do.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

68% Recommend
    226
    162
    81
    45
    48
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Curitiba, PR
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
194 helpful votes 194 helpful votes
“Ask twice before you eat, terrible service.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Enjoying our honeymoon in Banff, we decided to eat at the Grizzly House.

Made reservations, but people who didn´t have reservations were seating before us.

Anyways, we got a nice table and the waiter wasn´t very patient because of course he knew we didn´t speak english well. So, we ordered the Complete Fondue Dinners - beef and lobster fondue.
The idea of four courses seemed very attactive.

So, we got a salad first, and we didn´t eat very much as we were saving room for fondue. The waiter came to us and wanted to know WHY we were not eating the salad. I mean, I eat whatever I want.
Anyways, second course:cheese fondue. It was amazing. We loved it. So, we asked for more cheese and the waiter said that it will cost us more $ 15 or something. Then I asked if we were gonna have to pay more for the beef and lobster pieces and he said no, the beef and lobster pieces were free.

Ok. Third course: Beef and lobster fondue. It was very good. And of course we ordered more pieces.

After that we got the chocolate fondue. It wasn´t bad, but it wasn´t great.

When the bill came, the waiter charged every single piece of beef and lobster that we ordered. The same ones that he said were free.

So, the complete fondue dinners costs $ 49,95 per person, and we also had to pay extra $69,90 for the pieces that we orderd.

The waiter was very rude, but in the end he charged a little less for the pieces.

Anyways, the food was good. but service was terrible and the experience was not good at all.

I don´t think I´ll ever go back there.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“You won't leave hungry”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Great fondue house. Order the value package which includes a soup/salad ... cheese fondue... meat fondue... dessert fondue. It's about $45 a person. It's a bit pricey but you definitely get your money's worth.

Also, this place has been around forever... once you walk in you'll think you have time warped back to the 70's, Cool spot - worth checking out.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Don't bother! Horrible!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We went for dinner last night, dressed in our finest, thinking we were going for a nice night out. When we arrived for our reservation, we were ignored by 3 staff members. Once seated, our very rude server made comments like 'are you ready to order yet, or are you still taking your time?' A little advice on wine may have been helpful. It was very noisy and we were seated in a very crowded table, stuck in a back corner. The food was not very good, we ordered steak and lobster and were given a few chunks of steak and what looked like random scraps of lobster. Overall, we were very disappointed and would not recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“ecclectic atmosphere with tasty food but over priced for the portion sizes”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

The location of the restaurant is quite central and it's nice to take a walk on the street either before or after the meal. You can't possibly miss the ecclectic and rustic looking exterior and the interior matches that of the exterior. There are phones located at every table and in the bathroom where you can call your friends sitting in another part of the restaurant! It's not really a necessary feature but makes it fun. The service is friendly and casual and not overly formal by any means. Relaxed and comfortable atmosphere that is cozy.

The food is definitely tasty and of a proper calibre but for the portion, is over priced. Some interesting features on the menu. Indifferent about returning.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grizzly House Restaurant also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Grizzly House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grizzly House Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.