We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cook Your Own Elk - What's Not To Love?!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grizzly House Restaurant

Grizzly House Restaurant
207 Banff Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A1, Canada
403-762-4055
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #49 of 122 restaurants in Banff
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Fondue, cooking done at table on hot stones. Absolutely the best interactive dining with great food. Exotic foods such as elk, bison, venison, alligator, rattlesnake--plus chicken and beef!
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Cook Your Own Elk - What's Not To Love?!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This place is an absolute must.

We ended up here almost by accident one evening, when our preferred dinner venue was fully booked, and it turned out to be a blessing in disguise.

The whole premise is that diners cook their own meat (or selection of) on hot stones on at your table. There's an extremely diverse selection of meat on offer (alligator, shark, elk, etc) and you can mix and match as much as you like. Each platter comes with the chosen meat selection, garlic butter, and a selection dipping sauces and that's where the fun starts.

Top tip = don't wear anything too expensive, garlic butter can travel.

The staff at the Grizzly are brilliant, and work really hard to maintain a greatly, friendly, fun atmosphere whilst providing the necessary tuition to enable newcomers like ourselves to fully cook our bison.

Th Grizzly House decor could best be described as "oddball chic", but in my opinion it works. There's also a quirky little touch provided courtesy of the telephone handsets placed at each table, allowing you to communicate with other diners (who cares if you know them or not!).

This concept was clearly founded by a whack-job, but my kind of whack-job and the world needs more Grizzly Houses!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

68% Recommend
    226
    162
    81
    45
    48
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, AB
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Yum!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

We make it a point to visit the Grizzly House whenever we are in the area. They serve fondue (cheese and oil) as well as hot rocks for cooking meat. They have everything from Alligator to Snake. I'm a vegetarian (love the cheese fondue with a side of veggies and bread!) and my husband gets a hot rock with all kinds of meats. The atmosphere is fun, there are phones at every table so you can call other tables, haha.

Note that you will STINK like cooked meat after you go. Bring a garbage bag for the clothes you wear to the Grizzly House!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Swinging 60's+fondue+eccentric= fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

A must try!

This restaurant is a mash of ideas and themes that have been reworked and redeveloped over time to make a unique style not seen in many other restaurants. Firstly the place has an old 1960/70 style and feel to it, in a chalet type building. Secondly, it used to be a go-go bar where the swinging community used to hang out. Each table had a phone, to call the others, just in case the blonde with the Afro caught your eye. These phone are mostly functional, but only the more intoxicated patrons or bored children use them, but they are fun to try out. There are some nooks and crannies, where the tables are tucked into, and even the mysterious private room, where all the fun happens...you just have to close the curtains or wait for the secret signal to enter. Very weird indeed...

Not only do you get a cool atmosphere, but the service is excellent.

Apparently there is a choice of 16 or so fondue meats, including chicken, beef, seafood, alligator, venison, elk, rattlesnake, kangaroo. I had the fondue dinner with chicken and beef (Nice and safe). I'm not big into the seafood, so I stayed away from that (but heard it was good) and there were some exotics meats out of stock, so that was not the best option.

The first course was a soup/salad. The soup was satisfactory, and I was told the salad dressing is excellent, so next item I will order salad. The second was a choice of cheese or oil fondue with bread or vegetables. Both were excellent, and it was nice to have a large group to try them both. My group asked for multiple bread baskets to clean up the cheese (somebody would have licked the pot clean if we were not in a restaurant). The oil is an olive oil with a anchovy paste, which is not noticeable. I hate anchovy, but it was excellent.

The third course is the meat. You can either have a broth fondue, or a hot stone. The hot stone is exactly that, a hot stone, which you cook the meat on with the aid of garlic butter mix. You can then dip it in your sauce of choice, which range from teryaki to honey mustard and aioli type.

Lastly is dessert, melted toblerone ( chocolate with small nuts) and fruit.

I ended up feeling very full, and the cost was $44, with no drinks or tips. Dinner was longer at 3 hours, but between the food cooking and playing with the phones, it went by very fast.

I will go here again. You have to apparently reserve a couple weeks ahead.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Expensive, but tasty.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Second time I have dined here. I went for my boyfriends birthday and it was an amazing meal. The group next to us were extremely loud and aboxious which sometimes took away from our experience, but the food and the service were both fantastic. A bit on the pricey side, but still very good! We will be returning here for sure!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great experience!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

What a great experience!!! Decided to try exotic foods which included duck,venison, shark,kangaroo,Ostrich, and frog legs.Such a different taste in all the foods! The wait staff was not to be forgotten! Friendly and outgoing! Even mapped out ours foods and gave suggestions on how to cook them!! So impressed with absolutely everything!!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grizzly House Restaurant also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park

Been to Grizzly House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grizzly House Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.