We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent first night in Banff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eden

Eden
300 Mountain Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J2, Canada
(403) 762-3356
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Eden is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 123 restaurants in Banff
Price range: $51 - $51
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: 300 Mountain Avenue
Transit: Banff public transit service available to the hotel, please see link below for stops schedule. http://www.banff.ca/Assets/PDFs/Locals+PDF/Roam+Transit.pdf
Description: Our AAA Five Diamond award winning restaurant is an exquisite dining experience, offering French cuisine with regional accents. Combined with Eden's Wine Spectator Best of Award of Excellence and ALTO Award winning service, this restaurant provides each guest with the finest in dining, service and scenic views in Banff. Sommeliers are on staff to offer the best wine pairing to compliment the experience. Eden is closed Monday and Tuesday or for private functions, please check reservation for availability.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent first night in Banff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Just had the most beautiful meal at this restaurant. Started with Foie Gras and crab apples that were either pickled or stewed. Divine combination. My plate of cheeses was the best I have had, including a lovely cheese, Le Crendrillon from Quebec. Friendly attentive staff, and lovely ambience completed a perfect first night in Banff. Very deservedly the number 1 restaurant in this area.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    117
    14
    6
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“The whole experience was awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

My husband booked us in for dinner as a Wedding Anniversary treat and the whole experience was amazing. We are foodies but have never really eaten in a place like Eden; the venue is beautiful and has like an old 1930s feel it does feel really special.

We went for the 4 courses with wine pairings which was exquisite but the dish that stood out by far was the Suckling pig entree it was mouth watering yummy!! We ended our meal with a gorgeous glass of Port and then went to the lounge for G&Ts (after I had a peek in the wine store).

Yes it is mad expensive and we have never spent that much in a restaurant before but hey it was our anniversary! We would defo go back but maybe only once a year!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“One of the top 2 meals I've ever had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We splurged on dinner at Eden on one of our nights staying at Rimrock Resort. From start to finish, the meal was superb. The food quality, textures, and especially presentation exceeded our expectations. There really is no comparison between this type of "super meal" and normal "good" food. Every dish we had had multiple components, each very labor-intensive and different.

We like to eat good food but don't regularly go to 5-star restuarants. Other than our dinner at the Three Chimneys on Isle of Skye in Scotland, this is probably the best meal I've ever had.

We each had the four-course dinner without wine. For $99, I thought it was a very fair price (obviously expensive but worth it). Between the two of us we had (1) tuna three-ways and raw lamb's heart with bone marrow for appetizers; (2) rabbit three ways (two of which were great; one of which was not that good) and sablefish for entrees (which was unbelievably good); (3) three different cheeses each (the cheeses were my favorite part of the meal); and (4) mango and beetroot desserts. We were also served three complementary amuses bouches.

I am not a wine connouseur, but I tried a glass of white wine with my sablefish. The wine stewardess suggested a delicious wine which really did double the enjoyability of the fish. It was expensive ($22) but it was a healthy pour and I felt she helped me make a good selection and she did not try to get me to have the most expensive wine available.

To top it off, they sent us out with two fresh baked goods for later!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
“Amazing dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

It was all and all a great and very dining experience. The chef and staff went out of their way to ensure we had everything we needed. The dinning room was beautiful and there were finishing touches on everything from the service to the food. Being vegan its usually hit or miss with most places but this restaurant was overly accommodating.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvan Lake, Canada
1 review
“A memorable dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Remarkable!! One of the best meals we have experienced! Every course with the Eden pairing was magnificent, all of the tastes and the presentation were second to none. The knowledge and service quality from the staff truly added to the experience. An evening that will forever be etched in our memories!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eden also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.