We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the greatest dining experiences I've ever had.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eden

Eden
300 Mountain Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J2, Canada
(403) 762-3356
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Eden is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 120 restaurants in Banff
Price range: $51 - $51
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: 300 Mountain Avenue
Transit: Banff public transit service available to the hotel, please see link below for stops schedule. http://www.banff.ca/Assets/PDFs/Locals+PDF/Roam+Transit.pdf
Description: Our AAA Five Diamond award winning restaurant is an exquisite dining experience, offering French cuisine with regional accents. Combined with Eden's Wine Spectator Best of Award of Excellence and ALTO Award winning service, this restaurant provides each guest with the finest in dining, service and scenic views in Banff. Sommeliers are on staff to offer the best wine pairing to compliment the experience. Eden is closed Monday and Tuesday or for private functions, please check reservation for availability.
1 review
“One of the greatest dining experiences I've ever had.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I have dined all over north America and Europe. 3 Michelin 5 diamond you name it. A passion for cuisine and wine is truly evident here. A desire on the service side to make your dining experience unforgettable is fore front. Innovative, artistic, professional and at the same time jovial. All this said realize that this is a exploration of the senses. So if a 16 oz ribeye is what your looking for try any one of 2 dozen steakhouses in the area. Come here for that thing you just can't do at home. Come here because weeks and months later you still can't forget the fantastic experience you had. As a note the value is relative and you will spend a decent amount. For me it was worth every dollar and I will return.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    99
    13
    4
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Unbelievable and incomparable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

This place sets a new standard in fine dining. Everything about this place - the service, the ambiance, and of course the food - will make every other dining experience you have had seem dull by comparison. These people are incredibly passionate about what they do and it shows.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Eden is a restaurant that you should experience at least once in your life. My wife and I choose to experience it once or twice a year! Combine an amazing staff with a fantastic chef and a wine selection that is to die for and you get Eden. Sitting on the edge of a mountain in Banff National Park is really the finishing touch. We always enjoy the chef's menu with the wine pairing. A great way to experience new tastes.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We chose this restaurant for a special celebration dinner. Some elements of the dinner were very good but there were many misses. We both chose the four course menu with wine pairing. Service was uneven which is not expected of a restaurant of this calibre. The first course "A Potato Salad" was excellent, well-conceived and executed. However the other first course "Crab and Carrot" was boring and fishy. Both entrees, bison tenderloin and duck, were delicious. The cheese course was fine but ordinary. The "Chocolate Landscape" dessert was not memorable.
The greatest disappointment of the evening was the wine pairing. The Eden restaurant advertises itself as a five-diamond restaurant yet served everyday wine in their wine pairing. We like Sandhill Merlot but with a bison tenderloin - really? This is a wine more appropriate for a casual week-night dinner. If the price point for the wine pairing is so low that they cannot serve wine appropriately matched to the food they should either raise the price or not do the pairing at all.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
“Wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Amazing experience...I have never had such a beautiful dinner with the most amazing drinks to go with it! Spoil yourself and go.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eden also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.