We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eden

Eden
300 Mountain Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J2, Canada
(403) 762-3356
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Eden is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 128 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $51 - $51
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: 300 Mountain Avenue
Transit: Banff public transit service available to the hotel, please see link below for stops schedule. http://www.banff.ca/Assets/PDFs/Locals+PDF/Roam+Transit.pdf
Description: Our AAA Five Diamond award winning restaurant is an exquisite dining experience, offering French cuisine with regional accents. Combined with Eden's Wine Spectator Best of Award of Excellence and ALTO Award winning service, this restaurant provides each guest with the finest in dining, service and scenic views in Banff. Sommeliers are on staff to offer the best wine pairing to compliment the experience. Eden is closed Monday and Tuesday or for private functions, please check reservation for availability.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
“Wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Amazing experience...I have never had such a beautiful dinner with the most amazing drinks to go with it! Spoil yourself and go.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    23
    7
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Top Notch Fine Dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

This is my first visit to Eden Restaurant. I'm a huge fan this is fine dining on a word class level. The greater was friendly and had a sense of humour as did the staff. No one is stuck up or pretentious. The drink server wasn't top notch she needs some lessons on wine. We loved the views it all went off without a hitch. This isn't a fancy steak restaurant it's fine dining European style. I think the wine pairing could be a good idea but I think you will miss out on all the wonderful food flavours. The Potato Salad was a home run. Thanks to Eden's staff it was memorable. We will be back.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The most amazing dinner I have ever had!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

This dining experience will be the one that all others are compared to. There is a reason this restaurant is awarded the prestigious five diamond award. The ambiance is fantastic, overlooking the bow valley and surrounding mountains.

The staff was very warm and welcoming and very educational. You have the option of doing 2, 3, or 4 course meal, with or without wine pairings, or one of the chef's tasting menus, the most extensive being the 11-course tasting menu.

Before even placing our orders, a gentleman came by with a trolly cart full of different champagnes. We passed on those, and had martinis instead. The amuse bouche (duck in pastry) was brought out on a smoking log, which in itself smelled devine. Then an assortment of breads and butters arrived. I have celiac disease, so I had to go gluten free, so they thankfully brought me some gluten free bread.

Then, when you are expecting your appetizers, another plate with 3 more amuse bouches came, which included prawns, panko fried frog legs, and beet root macaroons.

Then along comes the wine paired with your appetizer (I highly recommend the Eden wine pairings). The appetizers were fantastic. I had the foie gras, which was amazing, and the rest of the table had the Chestnut.

Next we had the main course, again with fantastic wine pairings. I had the duck, my girlfriend had the bison tenderloin, and the boys had the beef tenderloin. All enjoyed their meals immensely. The flavour of the dishes were fantastic, and the presentation was beautiful.

The boys chose the four course option, so next they had an assortment of cheeses and their wine pairing.

Finally, we all had our dessert. Each one of us ordered a different one. I had the berries and creme, which came with a vodka/berry shooter in addition to my dessert wine. Everyone loved their desserts and were amazed at the flavours and again, presentation.

Then, when your expecting dinner to be finished, out comes a clear cake serving platter with an assortment of chocolate truffles and other little desserts. In the hollow stem of the cake platter is a hibiscus tea, which the server pours dry ice into, which adds an epic finale to the meal as the smoke billows across the little desserts and down unto the table. The coffee was delicious, and there was a large trolly full of port wines, sherry's and cognac's.

As we were leaving the restaurant, we were pleasantly surprised to receive a "parting gift" which was a delicious, chocolate covered banana bread. We were so full after dinner that we had that the next day, but it was great nonetheless.

Overall, dinner here is an absolutely seamless experience. The staff is attentive and polite, the food and service is excellent. I don't know if I will ever have a meal like this again. Well worth it! :)

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Our favourite restaurant in Canada”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We visited Eden for the fourth time on a recent trip to Banff, and wish we could go back every week. Greeted at the door by Gustavo, who never fails to recognise us, it is no over-estimation by the other reviews when they say you will be treated like royalty. From beginning to end, the service and food is flawless and every bit as good as any 3 michelin star restaurant we have been to in North America. Eden restaurant manages the perfect balance between fine dining without the pretentious awkwardness of other restaurants – you feel like the queen and yet amazingly at home. Everything we have ever chosen off the menu at Eden has been superb and clearly made with attention to the finest detail and by a team who takes pride in its work. We always arrive with very high expectations and always leave just a little more surprised at what they were able to pull off.

If you have the opportunity, do not miss this experience. We have a handful of precious memories from this incredible restaurant and will definitely be returning as soon as we get the chance.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Eating Adventure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

If you're up to eating Art and open your mind - Eden is the place to go! Amazing what can be done with food.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eden also viewed

 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.