We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Um um good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castello Ristorante

Castello Ristorante
Fairmont Banff Springs | 405 Spray Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada
+1 403-762-6860
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Castello Ristorante is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #26 of 128 Restaurants in Banff
Price range: $18 - $35
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Seafood, Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: There is a bus service run by the town which runs approximately every 40 minutes into Banff. Fare is $2.00 per person. The bus operates daily from 6:35 a.m. until 11:15 p.m.
Description: Celebrate the simple pleasures of great food, wine and company with an authentic Italian meal at Castello Ristorante! The diverse regional flavours of modern Italian cuisine and showcased nightly with our seasonally inspired menu of deliciously shareable appetizers, hand-made pasta, ultra-thin pizza, and innovative rustic fare. Experience “La Dolce Vita” and the largest Italian wine collection in Banff at Castello Ristorante.
Trenton, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Um um good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Wonderful entries and greater desserts!! This Italian restaurant is one of the best in town! The wine selection is impressive.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontMTNResorts, Manager at Castello Ristorante, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments about Castello Ristorante. We pride ourselves on authentic Italian Cuisine and are so glad you joined us for the Holiday Season!

Jessica P.
Fairmont Banff Springs Food and Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    29
    15
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Amazing Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

My wife and I went to Castello Ristorante for our anniversary and we were glad we did! The restaurant is in a gazebo shape and is very quaint and charming inside. Perfect for special occasions! The waiter was extremely nice and acknowledged our special evening. The food that came was absolutely amazing and we loved everything that came from start to finish. At the end, he brought us each a glass of champagne on the house for the occasion. He was very personable and was talking to us a lot. We eat very late, so we were the only people left there that late. All in all, it was the perfect setting, with the perfect meal and over the top great service. Couldn't have picked a better spot!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontMTNResorts, Manager at Castello Ristorante, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you very much for your wonderful comments regarding your dining experience in Castello Ristorante. We are so pleased you decided to spend such a special occasion with us and we are glad we could make your anniversary a special one. Thank you again and we hope you visit from Argentina again soon.

Jessica P.
Fairmont Banff Springs Food and Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prior lake mn
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Cozy and tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Ate here while staying at the Fairmont and was very pleased. The setting is very cozy, tucked away in a turret like nook. Glass surrounds you allowing you to continue to take in the beautiful surroundings. Our waiter was attentive and helpful as he recommended a nice wine pairing with our meal. The apps were tasty and I really liked my risotto. Although not cheap, provided equal or better value with other similar priced restaurants we visited in Banff. Definitely on my list for next time and compares favorably with other Italian offerings I have had.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontMTNResorts, Manager at Castello Ristorante, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed the cozy surroundings of Castello Ristorante and thank you for your kind comments about your dining experience! We hope you visit again soon!

Jessica P.
Fairmont Banff Springs Food and Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

We were staying at the Banff Springs and decided to have my husband birthday at Castello's. Amazing!!! Cannot say enough about the staff. The food was perfectly prepared! We asked our server to suggest the wine - he was bang on. I'm in Banff at least once a year. Castello's will be on list every visit.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontMTNResorts, Manager at Castello Ristorante, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments about Castello Ristorante. We are so glad that your husband had such a fabulous birthday and we look forward to having you back soon!

Jessica P.
Fairmont Banff Springs Food and Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Excellent meal with a small party. Yhe place is quite small and timely reservation is a must. Visiting this September we found the restaurant is not open on only selected days. A pity. Service is effricient and very friendly. Enjoyed the evening thoroughly.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontMTNResorts, Manager at Castello Ristorante, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you very much for your positive comments regarding Castello Ristorante. We are so pleased you decided to celebrate such a wonderful occasion with us. We hope to see you back again soon!

Jessica P.
Fairmont Banff Springs Food and Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castello Ristorante also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Castello Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castello Ristorante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.