We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy and tasty” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Castello Ristorante

Castello Ristorante
Fairmont Banff Springs | 405 Spray Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada
+1 403-762-6860
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Castello Ristorante is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #33 of 128 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $17 - $33
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Seafood, Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: There is a bus service run by the town which runs approximately every 40 minutes into Banff. Fare is $2.00 per person. The bus operates daily from 6:35 a.m. until 11:15 p.m.
Description: Celebrate the simple pleasures of great food, wine and company with an authentic Italian meal at Castello Ristorante! The diverse regional flavours of modern Italian cuisine and showcased nightly with our seasonally inspired menu of deliciously shareable appetizers, hand-made pasta, ultra-thin pizza, and innovative rustic fare. Experience “La Dolce Vita” and the largest Italian wine collection in Banff at Castello Ristorante.
prior lake mn
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Cozy and tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Ate here while staying at the Fairmont and was very pleased. The setting is very cozy, tucked away in a turret like nook. Glass surrounds you allowing you to continue to take in the beautiful surroundings. Our waiter was attentive and helpful as he recommended a nice wine pairing with our meal. The apps were tasty and I really liked my risotto. Although not cheap, provided equal or better value with other similar priced restaurants we visited in Banff. Definitely on my list for next time and compares favorably with other Italian offerings I have had.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontMTNResorts, Manager at Castello Ristorante, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed the cozy surroundings of Castello Ristorante and thank you for your kind comments about your dining experience! We hope you visit again soon!

Jessica P.
Fairmont Banff Springs Food and Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    29
    16
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

We were staying at the Banff Springs and decided to have my husband birthday at Castello's. Amazing!!! Cannot say enough about the staff. The food was perfectly prepared! We asked our server to suggest the wine - he was bang on. I'm in Banff at least once a year. Castello's will be on list every visit.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontMTNResorts, Manager at Castello Ristorante, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments about Castello Ristorante. We are so glad that your husband had such a fabulous birthday and we look forward to having you back soon!

Jessica P.
Fairmont Banff Springs Food and Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Excellent meal with a small party. Yhe place is quite small and timely reservation is a must. Visiting this September we found the restaurant is not open on only selected days. A pity. Service is effricient and very friendly. Enjoyed the evening thoroughly.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontMTNResorts, Manager at Castello Ristorante, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you very much for your positive comments regarding Castello Ristorante. We are so pleased you decided to celebrate such a wonderful occasion with us. We hope to see you back again soon!

Jessica P.
Fairmont Banff Springs Food and Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful birthday dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We had a wonderful dinner to celebrate Adrian's birthday at the Castello inside Banff Springs. The staff were very attentive & the atmosphere with the views outside wonderful. The frood & italian wine were excellent.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontMTNResorts, Manager at Castello Ristorante, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Happy Birthday Adrian!! We are so glad you chose to share your special day with us at Castello Ristorante. Your comments regarding the food and service are greatly apprecaited! Thank you and please come and visit us soon!


Jessica P.
Fairmont Banff Springs Food and Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Great Italian in an ideal setting!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We truly enjoyed our meal at this restaurant. The Italian food was amazing. Small intimate setting that reservations are a must. I would highly recommend this great place to enjoy some delicious Italian, some fine wine and great company!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontMTNResorts, Manager at Castello Ristorante, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you so much for your recommendation of Castello. It is much appreciated. We are so glad your enjoyed your dinner; your comments have been passed along to both our Culinary and Castello Team. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!

Jessica P.
Fairmont Banff Springs Food and Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castello Ristorante also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Castello Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castello Ristorante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.