We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food....Service not so great!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Castello Ristorante

Castello Ristorante
Fairmont Banff Springs | 405 Spray Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada
+1 403-762-6860
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Castello Ristorante is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #39 of 133 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $31
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Seafood, Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: There is a bus service run by the town which runs approximately every 40 minutes into Banff. Fare is $2.00 per person. The bus operates daily from 6:35 a.m. until 11:15 p.m.
Description: Celebrate the simple pleasures of great food, wine and company with an authentic Italian meal at Castello Ristorante! The diverse regional flavours of modern Italian cuisine and showcased nightly with our seasonally inspired menu of deliciously shareable appetizers, hand-made pasta, ultra-thin pizza, and innovative rustic fare. Experience “La Dolce Vita” and the largest Italian wine collection in Banff at Castello Ristorante.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good Food....Service not so great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Good restaurant, food was good, but took forever for our waitress to even come to our table.....15-20 minutes. With kids that's a little tough. But could have been an off night.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    32
    18
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
115 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Surprising Italian in Banff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Pretty restaurant in the Fairmont. Relatively small, but very comfortable, and not loud. Excellent service. Limited (almost all Italian) wine list, but some excellent selections. The Arugula salad is superior: Fresh greens, good seasoning...as good as I've had. The Eggplant Lasagna is very well done and worth ordering. Two friends had the sausage with pasta; mixed reviews. They make their own gelato, and it's terrific.
Not exactly local type cuisine, but really good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
regina, canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Still excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Ate here last time we stayed at the Fairmont, and we thought we would try it again to see if last time was a fluke. Nope, still excellent. My wife had the chicken and I had the veal, and they were both terrific. Wine list is very extensive, but be aware that the markup is much higher here than at most other places - only other time I've seen markups like these are in Vancouver. Because the restaurant is small it is has a great atmosphere, so it's a great place for a romantic meal. Portions are generous, but save room for dessert, which is a highlight.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Smaller than you think cosy dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We had difficulty booking because the restaurant was so popular. We ended up accepting a later time 8.30pm than we wanted. When we got there we realized why it is difficult to get in to. A small restaurant so not many covers.

This all made for an intimate atmosphere and very good service. The food was good, I particularly enjoyed the calamari starter. A quality selection of Italian wines available. My pasta main course was very tasty but perhaps the spaghetti a little over done for my liking.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
343 reviews
275 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Very Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We had a lovely dinner here while staying at the hotel our server was great also the maitre de my wife had the muscles and i had the calamari both very good we both had the veal scaloppine for main also quite good overall a nice experience,

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castello Ristorante also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Castello Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castello Ristorante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.