We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sleeping Buffalo Restaurant & Lounge

Sleeping Buffalo Restaurant & Lounge
700 Tunnel Mountain Rd | Buffalo Mountain Lodge, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Sleeping Buffalo Restaurant & Lounge is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #41 of 132 Restaurants in Banff
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Dining style: Fine Dining
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Beautiful Setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

I was really looking forward to trying this place as it looked nice in photos on the internet and has some great reviews on this site. When we got there, I was happy I made the reservation! The restaurant is gorgeous, especially at Christmas time! Loved it! It is so "Banff", like a fairytale. The Christmas decorations were stunning and it is so cozy with the fireplace and comfortable surrounding lounge chairs where you can have a drink after dinner. (We shared a port and sat there until a large group arrived and spoiled our peace)! The food on the night we went was good, but not really amazing. Just nice. Would expect a bit better for the price and to make it a truly great experience. I can see, however, that it had potential to be better. Sometimes you just go to a restaurant and don't experience their best night. I think this was one of those times. I'd go back again though. Overall it was a pretty nice experience. The service was good. There weren't that many people there on the night we went, it is sort of out of the main restaurant area, which is nice. Very, very cute decor for Australians who don't see this type of place at home. A romantic place for couples and good for special occasions.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
1 Thank KatrinaKitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Rating summary
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
72 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Tasty food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

The food was tasty, though the quantity was a little lacking. Should have had an appetizer and more bread too. Service was a bit slow concerning the number of guests

Visited January 2014
Thank Falling_Ken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

The 5 course new year's eve dinner was scrumptious. We hosted 9 people and there was enough choice so that everyone had a great meal.The New Year's Day Brunch had a good variety of food and it was all fresh! The service was friendly and professional.

Visited December 2013
Thank CanadaRover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“New Years Eve dinner 2014”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Once again we had an excellent meal. They have never disappointed us in 15 years . Wonderful food, presentation and staff. Thank you for helping us bring in a new year with style.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Thank badgirl56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great dinner....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We spent two nights at Buffalo Mountain Lodge and were looking for somewhere close by to have our dinner. I came across all the reviews on trip advisor and decided to give this place a try.

We booked a reservation in advance and arrived to a nice table off to the side with a nice view.

Service was great to start and then things got a little slow. There was a winter race going on in Banff that evening and the route had to be changed due a grizzly in town so the road leading to and from the Lodge was closed for the race. This left people in the surrounding hotels/ lodges with no place to go. They had to seat people in the lounge to accommodate the influx of people. They ended up being a bit slammed , even the manager was delivering food to the tables and picking up empty plates, pouring wine etc...

Overall we enjoyed our meal here. Everything arrived hot and fresh. Would gladly return on our next visit to Banff.

Visited November 2013
1 Thank Canadianbride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sleeping Buffalo Restaurant & Lounge also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park

Been to Sleeping Buffalo Restaurant & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing