We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sleeping Buffalo Restaurant & Lounge

Sleeping Buffalo Restaurant & Lounge
700 Tunnel Mountain Rd | Buffalo Mountain Lodge, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada
403-762-2400
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Sleeping Buffalo Restaurant & Lounge is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #52 of 132 Restaurants in Banff
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We had breakfast here several times during our stay. You could do a buffet or choose from the menu. The granola was great. The buffett was pretty standard for a breakfast, but a decent option.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    29
    7
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What is happening to this fine dining experience?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We've been to the Buffalo Mountain Lodge about 8 times, and as of lately the restaurant experience has slid faster than an avalanche.

It took 1 hour 15 minutes in a not so crowded restaurant to get served a horrendous Arctic Char at $33. The potatoes were dry as well. My duck breast was quite nice I must say, but an hour and 15 minutes late - The Elk Carpaccio was amazing (if you get filled up on micro shavings) they seemed to be cutting back on that too. I can give up a couple of cost saving issues, but NOT food quality.

The outdoor big stainless steel hot-tub saved the evening. The hostess offered to exchange my girlfriend’s meal when it finally arrived. We were too famished to accept another long wait.
Don't expect your charge card to be settled at the table if you booked Expedia or another site, I got a nice letter telling me that AFTER we split the bill and paid by wireless billing at the restaurant that my room booking card was to be charged for $115 for the entire meal. We had both paid by credit card split down the middle but because we somehow used Expedia I was charged for the entire meal in the nice letter.
Skip this place if you want to eat for value and I used to love this place for a great dining experience. Randall Nelson January 2013

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

My friend and I dined at the Buffalo Mountain Lodge and it was exquisite! The ambiance when you walk in the door was so inviting. Service was attentive but not rushed which made for a relaxing evening. The food was excellent with a variety of choices for the adventurous and not so adventurous. Thanks to Wes, Jennifer and Elizabeth.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Christmas Dinner ++++”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Very nice menu choice for the special evening. A nice twist on traditional items. None of the courses were boring - chestnut soup, interesting greens, purees and a chocolate Bailys cheesecake to die for! Kudos to our server Steve, who made the meal even more enjoyable.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Overpriced and mediocre”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

The service is mediocre here. Friendly but just amateur, nothing what you expect from a resort like this. All the staff are young and don't seem to genuinely care. Our server at breakfast saw us once when we sat down and then only at the end when we got the bill ... No one cleared our plates while we enjoyed the buffet, we had a big pile at the side of the table. We should have gone to Ricky's in town.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sleeping Buffalo Restaurant & Lounge also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Sleeping Buffalo Restaurant & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleeping Buffalo Restaurant & Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.