We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Souvlaki!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barpa Bill's Souvlaki

Barpa Bill's Souvlaki
223 Bear St, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A1, Canada
(403) 762-0377
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 128 Restaurants in Banff
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Souvlaki!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

This place is a gold mine! We stopped in for a quick bite and it was honestly one of the best burgers I've ever had!

My wife had the lamb souvlaki and I have the barpa burger, both great choices. I recommend anyone coming to banff to make note of visiting barpa bill!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    25
    4
    0
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alberta, Canada
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Garlic hit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

I try to stop in at Barpa Bill's for a lamb souvlaki whenever I am in Banff. It's a family run business that for many years has been serving up souvlaki, French fries and burgers to die for! My favourite is the lamb souvlaki --loaded with garlic and soooo flavourful. When I feel like saying to hell with the diet, I add an order of the best fries ever! It's a tiny, hole-in-the-wall place next to the Banff theatre, has seats for about 10, is always busy with people sitting in or taking out. If you're a fan of the Greek soccer teams -- you're golden with the owner and his son.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Never go wrong”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Still the place to go in Banff for a great burger, including a lamb burger, at a reasonable price. Bill runs a tight ship. He and his son work hard to keep the place spotless and produce good food at good prices. If they don't treat you like royalty, it's probably because you're not, and they might not care if you were. Burgers and Souvlaki are the highlights. The donairs maybe not so much. Counter space for a few people, but most take out.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marietta, GA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Confused about the great reviews”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We were looking for an inexpensive meal in Banff and All the great TA reviews brought us to Barpa Bill's. Not sure what all the hype is about. The food was average. I ordered the souvlaki and there were only 4 tiny little pieces of chicken in it. It was mostly bread. My husband has the burger and we shared a salad. We drank water. Our bill was $30. The real problem for us though, was that the man behind the counter (Bill?) was kinda rude to us, so we wouldn't return or recommend it due to that. As a side note, he did seem friendly to customers who seemed to be his regulars.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, CA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Inexpensive, Tasty Greek Fare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013


Take out or eat in, this hole-in-the-wall spot serves locals and tourists alike with tasty and quick efficiency. The souvlaki and Greek salads are the main cuisine, the menu is limited, but is a welcome break from busy over-priced touristy restaurants.


Take out it

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barpa Bill's Souvlaki also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Barpa Bill's Souvlaki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barpa Bill's Souvlaki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.