We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Burgers in Town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barpa Bill's Souvlaki

Barpa Bill's Souvlaki
223 Bear St, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A1, Canada
(403) 762-0377
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #17 of 120 restaurants in Banff
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Banff, Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Burgers in Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

You cannot find anything better for this price in Banff, big, juicy homemade burgers with tzatziki sauce..

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    42
    24
    3
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Banff
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great food great price great servies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

i love going here the food is so good the staff is charming. I have read the review saying the old man is rude, and that cant be further from the truth, i go here regulary and have never had a problem IF YOU LIKE GREEK FOOD GO HERE.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“affordable yumm!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Get a great tasting food prepared in minutes in front of you- very pleasant surprise! Delicious juicy beef steak, chicken souvlaki, soft fried calmari with tzatsiki sauce, and pita/humus- unbeatable value lunch. Quite a simple atmosphere, feels like favorite locals' eatery. I'd very recommend it.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great (Non) Fine Dining!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

If you are looking for really tasty food, and don't need extravagances like tables, this is the place! We asked a shop keeper where she would go for lunch and she sent us to Barpa Bill's. Tiny counter is the only seating available but the fries and souvlaki are outstanding!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The Barpa Burger may not be "life changing," but it's sure addictive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

A young man from Banff working at the Prince of Wales Hotel (Waterton National Park) told us we had to go to Barpa Bill's when we told him we were heading for the Canmore-Banff area. He said the Barpa Burger was "life changing." I've now made three trips to Barpa Bill's. The first time was on the run while moving the car from one parking spot to another (if you know Banff you know about what I am talking). I grabbed one to split among our group. This led to four members heading back to get their own Barpa Burger. A couple of days later we detoured back through Banff just to run in and order Barpa Burgers to go. Okay, okay, it's not "life changing." But, as I sit here writing this review I wish I had one to scarf down.

I read the review about rude service. the older attendant is gruff, not rude. however, everyone else is quite congenial, and I enjoyed watching the older attendant's spouse "correct" him.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barpa Bill's Souvlaki also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Barpa Bill's Souvlaki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barpa Bill's Souvlaki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.