We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a perfect anniversary dinner!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Banffshire Club - CLOSED

The Banffshire Club
Fairmont Banff Springs | 405 Spray Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J4, Canada
+1 403-762-6860
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $38 - $71
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Transit: There is a bus service run by the town which runs approximately every 40 minutes into Banff. Fare is $2.00 per person. The bus operates daily from 6:35 a.m. until 11:15 p.m. See the concierge desk for a town bus schedules which are subject to change without notice.
Description: Nestled in the Castle is a hidden gem. The Banffshire Club showcases the crown jewel of Alberta cuisine - beef.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Such a perfect anniversary dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I chose the banffshire club for our anniversary dinner. What a superb choice! Everything from the service to the food was absolutely perfect. Our server was wonderful, he was professional, knowledgable and fun! All the staff really pull together for the ultimate experience. The food was amazing, we started with glasses of crystal from the champagne cart which were wonderful. Our meals were delicious, expertly cooked and beautifully presented. The wine list is amazing, very large selection of fine wines from all around the world. We have dinned all around the world and were not let down here. We really enojoyed our evening at the banffshire and will definitely return.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    8
    7
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Albert
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderfull dinning experiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

While the meal was slightly more expensive it was a dinning experience one should try at least once in their life! The food was mouth wateringly delicious and the wine selection was remarkable.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Sublime Dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

A very fancy place. Food and service was impeccable, but VERY formal. Trio of desserts was excellent; as was the cheese cart, and getting chocolates with the bill was a nice touch. Set in such a picturesque place it made the experience of visiting the Bow Valley area complete.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Luxury - Fine Food and Expensive Wines”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

A very select restaurant for guests with more discerning tastes, a smaller appetite and large wallets. No prices are shown on the menus. I ordered the fois gras which was the best I have ever tasted and I have eaten all over the world. Then the Roast Goose also very good. We were shown the Champagne cart and my husband ordered us a glass each of Bollinger. When the bill came each glass was $125 more than the food! Be careful and ask the prices unless it does not matter to you! That said a very good restaurant and we will return!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing New Year's Eve dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

I went here with my bf and another couple for New Year's Eve and the night was simply amazing. I've always wanted to try a seven course meal and it exceeded all of our expectations!
All courses were delish and we ate everything off our plates. We didn't leave hungry or stuffed, it was perfect. The service was amazing and everything flowed. Supper took 2.5 hours approximately.
Supper per person was $175.00 but if you wanted wine paired with each course it was $400.00 pp.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Banffshire Club also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Banffshire Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.