We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sublime Dining” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banffshire Club, The - CLOSED

Banffshire Club, The
Fairmont Banff Springs | 405 Spray Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J4, Canada
+1 403-762-6860
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $43 - $82
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Transit: There is a bus service run by the town which runs approximately every 40 minutes into Banff. Fare is $2.00 per person. The bus operates daily from 6:35 a.m. until 11:15 p.m. See the concierge desk for a town bus schedules which are subject to change without notice.
Description: Nestled in the Castle is a hidden gem. The Banffshire Club showcases the crown jewel of Alberta cuisine - beef. Executive Chef jW Foster and his team have designed a menu to reflect a traditional steakhouse. Guests can not only dine on the best Alberta beef, but, they can savour the flavours of regionally sourced bison, elk and venison.
Halifax, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Sublime Dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

A very fancy place. Food and service was impeccable, but VERY formal. Trio of desserts was excellent; as was the cheese cart, and getting chocolates with the bill was a nice touch. Set in such a picturesque place it made the experience of visiting the Bow Valley area complete.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    8
    7
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Luxury - Fine Food and Expensive Wines”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

A very select restaurant for guests with more discerning tastes, a smaller appetite and large wallets. No prices are shown on the menus. I ordered the fois gras which was the best I have ever tasted and I have eaten all over the world. Then the Roast Goose also very good. We were shown the Champagne cart and my husband ordered us a glass each of Bollinger. When the bill came each glass was $125 more than the food! Be careful and ask the prices unless it does not matter to you! That said a very good restaurant and we will return!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing New Year's Eve dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

I went here with my bf and another couple for New Year's Eve and the night was simply amazing. I've always wanted to try a seven course meal and it exceeded all of our expectations!
All courses were delish and we ate everything off our plates. We didn't leave hungry or stuffed, it was perfect. The service was amazing and everything flowed. Supper took 2.5 hours approximately.
Supper per person was $175.00 but if you wanted wine paired with each course it was $400.00 pp.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“an anniversary to remember”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This place is just so hard to beat. from the moment we entered the staff were wonderful, the ambiance is just fantastic, my pre dinner drink was masterfully mixed and the tasting menu was to die for, for the light drinkers out there beware if you have the suggested wines as the combination can be breathtaking! If you are looking for a romantic place to eat and you are in the area this is a must!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Superb meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

It's worth the expense as the meal and service were excellent! We were staying in the hotel, and didn't want to go back into town, and we weren't disappointed.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Banffshire Club, The also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banffshire Club, The, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.