We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Banffshire Club - CLOSED

The Banffshire Club
Fairmont Banff Springs | 405 Spray Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J4, Canada
+1 403-762-6860
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $40 - $76
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Transit: There is a bus service run by the town which runs approximately every 40 minutes into Banff. Fare is $2.00 per person. The bus operates daily from 6:35 a.m. until 11:15 p.m. See the concierge desk for a town bus schedules which are subject to change without notice.
Description: Nestled in the Castle is a hidden gem. The Banffshire Club showcases the crown jewel of Alberta cuisine - beef.
Middletown, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Superb meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

It's worth the expense as the meal and service were excellent! We were staying in the hotel, and didn't want to go back into town, and we weren't disappointed.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    8
    7
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Too much salt”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

The scallops had a crusted salt topping. It was way too salty The beef tenderloin was also too salty. I heard another patron also complain about too much salt on his beef tenderloin. I could not finish even one quarter of the meat and left still hungry. On the other hand my wife's meal was fine. The staff were nice and apologetic but couldn't make up for such a disappointment I can't imagine how this could have happened in a restaurant that has received rave reviews from others

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very loud parties in small room”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Anticipated an intimate setting. Not so! Two parties of ten were very loud for this small room.
Menu selection is VERY limited and, of course, expensive.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Simply Outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

The place is so intimate, it looks as though almost every table is in a private dining room. The food was outstanding and service even better. We actually really enjoyed the coffees at the end of the meal, and found out that they support a Calgary roaster. Upon asking further, we found out a lot of their produce and ingredients are locally and sustainably sourced where possible. It is expensive, but worth every penny.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Lovely food & ambience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Had dinner after a long two-day (albeit luxurious) train journey. Ambience and service were great! Food was good as well - do try some of the more adventurous offerings on the menu (like Bison). Hits all the right spots!

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Banffshire Club also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Banffshire Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.