We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Banffshire Club - CLOSED

The Banffshire Club
Fairmont Banff Springs | 405 Spray Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J4, Canada
+1 403-762-6860
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $41 - $79
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Transit: There is a bus service run by the town which runs approximately every 40 minutes into Banff. Fare is $2.00 per person. The bus operates daily from 6:35 a.m. until 11:15 p.m. See the concierge desk for a town bus schedules which are subject to change without notice.
Description: Nestled in the Castle is a hidden gem. The Banffshire Club showcases the crown jewel of Alberta cuisine - beef.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

outstanding culinary presentation
maitre d' had a bit of a 'stuffy' attitude and a bit loud - rather small restaurant so could be quieter with wine discussions and general chat
accomodated our special request for a 16th birthday cake - was amazing

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    8
    7
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Had to try it once.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

While staying at the Banff Springs hotel over Christmas my wife was told that if we decide to use the kids camp we'd be free to go to any restaurant in the hotel we wanted. She thought it meant the meal would be free so we chose the Banffshire Club (naturally). It wasn't free. My wife and I spent $350.00 including the main wine dessert tip etc. Overall excellent and we were both glad we went. The wine server needed to lighten up and develop a sense of humor though. A little stiff.
My wife is a very good cook and she was taking pics of the food as it came. Also We went on the kitchen tour which my daughter and I found a bit boring but my wife loved it. All the chefs would come out and joke around which was cool. Staff seemed happy, it was no hells kitchen.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
248 reviews 248 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
578 helpful votes 578 helpful votes
“Worth every $100 bill”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

Expensive but absolutely first class food/service. Atmosphere is old world elegant dining and an ideal place to impress a guest.

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Ontario
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“The best of the Banff Springs Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

I am amazed when I read negative reviews and then experience wonderful fine dining, so I always look for a consensus whenever possible. Yes the portions are nor huge, but for me they were perfect. The scallops from BC were full flavoured and the black cod was as good as I have had anywhere. Wine list was pricey, but extensive, and I found a wonderful Gruner from Austria that was reasonably priced and a perfect match to accompany the seafood. Service was excellent and knowledgeable. If you are staying at the Fairmont in Banff, do not hesitate to visit the Banffshire Club.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Banffshire Club Needs to Step it Up...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

We were dissappointed in the entire service, although the staff was very friendly and polite. There were so many things that happened (or did not happen) to spoil the experience it is hard explain in a short review. The food was excellent, but we could not get passed the lack of service. The service we received did not come close to our expectations of the Banffshire (or the $500 bill for 2), and I don't think I have ever felt so ignored. It seemed to be a basic lack of training and management concern. We may go back, but there are choices in Banff, and other establishments more motivated to have loyal local Customers.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Banffshire Club also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Banffshire Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.