We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Missteak at Melissa's” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melissa's Restaurant and Bar

Melissa's Restaurant and Bar
218 Lynx St, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 0C0, Canada
403-462-5511
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 128 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“No Missteak at Melissa's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

If you go to Melissa's more than likely there will be a line up. This family restaurant and building has been around for many years. Melissa's serves great food and large portions and at very reasonable prices for Banff. I've been here for breakfast and lunch and recommend the Eggs Benedict everytime. My son enjoys the Joe Canadian Burger with bacon, sauted mushrooms and Canadian cheddar, with a mountain of fries and my husband had the Chef Salad which was huge! The interior is of a log cabin, and has a real homey, comfortable feel.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    272
    260
    109
    48
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Yummy Steak”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

The price and value is decent at this resturant especially for Banff.

Filet Mignon was excellent and the peppercorn sauce actually contained peppercorns. Steak is served with salad and two sides so the price is on par with what you would get at Caesars in Calgary.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Breakfast was great, dinner was a mistake”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

No better place in Banff to go for a sit down breakfast. Al the usual options on the menu, and I had a fresh bagel with cream cheese and a GREAT fruit cup. Breakfast was awesome, the service was awesome, and then the server said if we came back for dinner and showed our receipt we'd get a discount. We thought why not, breakfast was so good, but dinner is a whole different animal... I had the pasta special, an olive and sundried tomato linguine, which was tasty at first but later gave me a terrible stomach, and everyone else was less than satisfied with their meal. The service also wasn't as good as at breakfast. So - Go for breakfast, but stay away for dinner.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

Visited for an evening meal. It certainly lived up to its reputation. Excellent service, cosy surroundings and great meal. The quality and variety of food was very good and value for money.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
“When you're Cold and Hungry”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

My husband and I found this gem of a place when we were in Banff in September 2012. We were out gallivanting even when it was raining all day long until we were both cold and hungry. We planned to have lunch in Lake Louise but we did not realize that the lines were so long in practically all of the restaurants that were open. And there were not so many of them.

We drove all the way to Banff where we found parking in the right place at the right time just in front of Melissa's. The wait staff were courteous and we were seated right away. I ordered Beef Stroganoff and my husband had Melissa's Mountain Stew. Service was fast, it did not take long for our food to arrive. It was hot and just perfect for the occasion. It was the best stroganoff I ever had and it was the perfect meal for a starving person after a long cold day of gallivanting and shopping. The price was decent and the portions were generous. I would recommend eating at Melissa's Restaurant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Melissa's Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Melissa's Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melissa's Restaurant and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.