We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for breakfast!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melissa's Restaurant and Bar

Melissa's Restaurant and Bar
218 Lynx St, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 0C0, Canada
403-462-5511
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 128 Restaurants in Banff
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
St Louis, MO, USA
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great place for breakfast!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Wonderful spot for breakfast with good food and coffee. Warm and inviting, the service was quick, but not rushed. Close to the museums we planned on visiting that day, so that was a plus. Clearly a mix of locals and visitors which is always a good sign.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    236
    234
    96
    41
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Large portions of comfort food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

For dinner, this can be a busy place, as it is big enough to take coach parties. But the service is swift and friendly, although we had a couple of inaccurate or forgetful servers. The steak and seafood is good, if not outstanding and the desserts likewise. The loaf of bread brought to the table for starters takes some getting through. Banff is not a cheap place to eat and this is mid-range.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great breakfast in Banff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We had a great breakfast here during our stay in Banff. We sampled one of the special apple pancakes which was delicious if you have a sweet tooth!

Our waiter was very friendly and the prices were very reasonable.

Recommend place to eat if you are staying in Banff.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A local eatery not to be missed !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

We had the steak and prime rib for dinner. Delicious - beef was cooked to perfection and Caesar salad excellent ! We definitely will be back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston WA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great staff, good value, good food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We were steered toward Melissa's by a local, and he sure did us a favor. We ended up having breakfast and dinner there, twice! Breakfast wasn't hugely imaginative, but the quality and quantity were there in abundance. For dinner we ordered the beef stew and the beef stroganoff and both were excellent. We had so much we took half our orders back to our cottage for the dogs, who enjoyed the entrees as much as we did. Highly recommended, good value, good service and atmostphere.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Melissa's Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Melissa's Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melissa's Restaurant and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.