We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handy, friendly & good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melissa's Restaurant and Bar

Melissa's Restaurant and Bar
218 Lynx St, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 0C0, Canada
403-462-5511
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 125 Restaurants in Banff
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Sunshine Coast
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Handy, friendly & good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Plenty of choice on the menu. Food excellent. As someone with a small appetite it was great to see a 5oz. steak on the menu.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    219
    219
    92
    39
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Headingley, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The breakfast was so good we went back the next day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

9 of us went for breakfast before skiing and were treated to an amazing experience. I had the Huevos Rancheros which was more than I could ask for, I had it with the Chorizo sausage that is made in house. My wife had Eggs Benedict that she enjoyed so much she couldn't stop talking about them all day. The boys had the Swiss pancake and it was so good they got it again the next day even though they never finished it. Our friends had the big breakfast and quite honestly couldn't conquer it. Now I want to add about our server( I work in the hospitality industry), he took orders for 9 people with all of the different variables juices, bacon, sausage, coffee, different toasts and he never wrote anything down! I watched this and thought good lord its going to be all messed up. When the meals came everyone got just what they ordered. When we sat down the next day the same fellow served us and he knew what we drank the day before, amazing. Anyway Huevos Rancheros for the win. 5 star all the way around.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beef Dip and French Onion Soup to die for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

I went for lunch with my son, we were seated at a nice table immediately by a very nice woman. I had a Beef Dip and French Onion Soup and let me tell you did they produce big time. I asked and was told the soup was made from scratch and could you ever tell. Don't pass on the French Onion if you go to Melissas. The Beef Dip was perfect with a nice Au Jus. My son had the deep dish Pizza and even as much of a picky eater the boy is, he was very happy. We are going to try breakfast tomorrow as I heard it is the best in Alberta.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Family Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We have enjoyed breakfast at Melissa's in the past - this visit we wanted to try it for dinner - Great choice. Steaks and Prime Rib were perfectly cooked. And a daughter loved the pasta special. The Caesar salad came served in large wooden bowl and was delicious. Our server was very friendly.
There is a reason that this place has been a Banff landmark for such a long time.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent apres-skiing dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

After a day on the Banff mountains a meal at Melissa's was a perfect pick of any of the dining establishments in the town of Banff.

The Prime Rib was excellent - good portion, cooked to my request perfectly, and accompaniments were well cooked and presented as well. Caesar salad and vegetables were crisp and tasty, and the horseradish with the main had a strong taste, not bland like so many other restaurants commonly serve. It's the best Prime Rib I've had in recent memory, and I was very happy with my meal and service. Excellent value in comparison to other chain restaurants in the Banff area.

For dessert I selected the sticky toffee off the list, and it was a great choice! Sweet hot toffee sauce over cake with cold ice cream is a perfect blend in this dessert. Anyone who likes desserts will enjoy this dish.

I'll return again, no hesitation. I'll likely try a breakfast on my next Banff visit as well.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Melissa's Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Melissa's Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melissa's Restaurant and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.