We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melissa's Restaurant and Bar

Melissa's Restaurant and Bar
218 Lynx St, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 0C0, Canada
403-462-5511
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 132 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Calgary
Level Contributor
49 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We went for breakfast. Had good service . Friendly staff. Good price. Had the chorizo benny and enjoyed it quite a bit. Might have found my new breakfast place in Banff.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

838 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    321
    322
    124
    50
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
218 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 309 helpful votes
“Get the corned beef hash...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Melissa's is my must stop Banff breakfast. Love the alpine feeling of the place, the staff is always wonderful and they have corned beef hash which is my favorite. It's a can't miss and much better than any hotel breakfast buffet. If you like well done comfort food, in a place where you're warmly welcomed this is it.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunham, Quebec
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

A historic restaurant in Banff with superb quality and service. We have had great steaks here. The Eggs Benedict are the best.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Best breakfast in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

This restaurant was recommended to us by our hotel staff. We had a lovely brunch there. Even on a Sunday morning, the line wasn't too long. The service and cost were both good. Food was excellent! I'd definitely go there again.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mystic, Connecticut
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Families will love to eat for less”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Not particularly my favorite type of restaurant since it is food for the masses...nothing special. I was there for breakfast and hoped it would be special (since I love a unique special breakfast). However, it is the standard stuff....and the coffee tasted like hot water. It is uniquely located across from a large hotel which probably works great for this place. I didn't come back for lunch or dinner so I can not comment on other meals at Melissa's.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Melissa's Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Melissa's Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melissa's Restaurant and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.