We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food, reasonable prices” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melissa's Restaurant and Bar

Melissa's Restaurant and Bar
218 Lynx St, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 0C0, Canada
403-462-5511
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 124 Restaurants in Banff
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Very good food, reasonable prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Prime Rib was the special, and was served at exactly the way we ordered. Waiter was a very nice Austrailian lad who derserved the tip that was given.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    199
    86
    39
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coquitlam, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place to eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Awesome staff! Jack made us welcome and met our every need. The food was excellent and our group of up to 20 were served together. We had lunch 4 days in a row and the menu allowed us plenty of vatiety.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“It was great!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I've heard of Melissa's but never been there. Won't make that mistake again. Had lunch on Saturday and breakfast on Monday at Melissa's. Service was great, food was good and the atmosphere was fantastic. I'll be back!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Not worth it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We have eaten here for breakfast twice on two recent trips to Banff. Both times were were not overly impressed. The prices are average but the food is too. Our breakfasts were served quickly but the quality was not great. Hash browns were shredded not, actual potatoe chunks and they were lukewarm at best. The bread that they use for toast is fairly tasteless. Coffee was just drinkable. There are better breakfast options in Banff.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Breakfast Stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Stopped in for breakfast on a Sunday morning. There was a 20 min wait for a table for two but we expected that so put our name on the list and went out for a walk. I had the 'Mexican' breakfast. ( I can't remember the name.) and my friend had the 'Big Breakfast". I did enjoy the salsa in with the eggs and the hash-browns were also good. The "big breakfast" looked defiantly ample for it's size. (it wasn't finished). It has been quite a while since I'd been to Banff but it still seemed pricey for the quality. I might go back for dinner but there are certainly more restaurant to be tried in Banff so I probably won't be back for breakfast there for a while.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Melissa's Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Melissa's Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melissa's Restaurant and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.