We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good but ...........” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Keg Steakhouse & Bar - Downtown

Keg Steakhouse & Bar - Downtown
117 Banff Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 0C0, Canada
403 760 3030
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #55 of 127 Restaurants in Banff
Price range: $21 - $44
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Great steaks, a casual ambiance and friendly, knowledgeable staff are the proud and reliable trademarks of The Keg Steakhouse & Bar. You'll find a truly comfortable and satisfying dining atmosphere accompanied by a fun and casual bar setting. The Keg is a casual steakhouse with a contemporary flavor - an attractive combination for any occasion.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Very good but ...........”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Booked on a Saturday night, restaurant was very busy. We were a party of six. Everything about this place was very good but a bit on the expensive side. To start I had a salad with blue cheese dressing which was absolutely superb. My main was a ribeye steak which was probably one of the best steaks I have ever had. The other members of the party were also very pleased with their meals. So although a bit on the expensive side I suppose you get what you pay for and would have no hesitation in returning.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    66
    31
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Terrible. Extremely poor managment.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Should have known better when we were able to get last-minute reservations for 8 people on a Saturday night... Service was horrible. Male server seemed put-out as if we were inconveniencing him by being there. Never had drink refills; had to ask for complementary bread; salads were warm and soggy; steaks (while not cooked properly) where fine but far from what you would expect for the price. Server never checked on us, nor did he ask if we enjoyed our meal. When we paid (by mastercard), we declined a tip as we had intended to leave it in cash. He was absolutley disgusted with us, snatched the machine away and left. It was shocking. We asked to speak to the manager and upon explaining the situation with our server and that we felt "disrespected" and explained that we would never visit this Keg location again, he replied, "cool, right on." Don't waste your time and your money. Avoid this location!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Had a good meal as always at the keg. Restaurant did not take reservations, but even on a Saturday night, the wait was short.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Disappointed.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We were excited to have a nice dinner out for my husband birthday but things went downhill from there. We usually love the Keg but our most recent experience was a disappointment. We were seated when the restaurant wasn't busy and it took about 5 min for the served to come to the table and it was after the hostess went and found her. They took out favourite appy off the menu (asparagus and snap pea tempura). The waitress couldn't find a drink menu so she gave me laminated piece of paper with a list of drinks on it. I am normally impressed with their martini menu but it seems to have changed. I ordered some kind of apple martini and it tasted terrible, like something I may have mixed in high school. Needless to say we didn't stay for dinner. We went down the road to a local streak house and were blown away and won't be back at the Keg when in Banff.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent food!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Great location right on Banff Ave. If you can score a window table the view can be quite nice especially at night. It was not very busy which was night as it was Dec 23rd everyones meals were great and our service was good however after after 4 coffee refills my mom was lucky if her coffee was lukewarm. I hate to be really rude but the only huge downfall about this restaurant is the bathroom. I will wait til I get home thanks!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Keg Steakhouse & Bar - Downtown also viewed

 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Keg Steakhouse & Bar - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Keg Steakhouse & Bar - Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.