We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice atmosphere and good value food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Giorgio's Trattoria

Giorgio's Trattoria
219 Banff Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 0C0, Canada
403 762-5114
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Giorgio's Trattoria is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #51 of 122 restaurants in Banff
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Transit: We are located directly in front of a public transit stop.
Description: Contemporary Italian Dishes. Hand made pasta, thin crust pizza. Fun family style dining, "share the Italian way"
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere and good value food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

During our stay in Banff we did a second visit to this restaurant. Good tasty pasta and pleasant surroundings. Staff all very friendly and welcoming.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

68% Recommend
    76
    111
    50
    25
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Maine
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

My husband ordered the spaghetti Bolognese, and he said he got what he expected--nothing to rave about but nothing to complain about. I ordered a pizza with three toppings--mushroom, roasted eggplant, and spinach. The spinach was a few thin leaves and I could barely find the mushrooms and eggplant. I asked for half the normal amount of cheese, which the server translated as "light cheese," but what I got was essentially way too much cheese and almost nothing else. When I tried to pick off a lot of the cheese, I was left with nothing but crust. I did like the thin, crispy crust.The only reason I ordered the pizza was because nothing else on the menu was appealing. Everything was loaded with cheese or cream sauces or other heavy ingredients. I would call it Italian food the way North Americans have learned to like it rather than authentic Italian food the way Italians prepare it. If this what you like, then you may like Giorgio's.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Ordinary”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Nothing spectacular about the restaurant. The food was good and plentiful, too plentiful, but nothing out of the ordinary. A large mirror gives the impression of space, which is not there, and they really want to serve you fast, no gaps between courses.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Very good food but......”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Went there on a Saturday night when everywhere else was fully booked but managed to get a table for4 without any problem. Very nice restaurant and very good staff. The food was very good but we were shocked when we got the bill as it was very expensive. If you want good food and are prepared to pay for it then this is the place to go.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Returned to an old favorite but disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I have been going to this place yearly for over 10years and just returned again, but was disappointed. Service was not very good, although our table had a nice view. The place was fairly empty at 6pm on a Tuesday evening. We ordered house wine which was good, and lamb and salmon. Both were way heavy on garlic and the lamb way over cooked. My wife did not wish to delay us by returning the lamb that she had requested as medium rare, but was well done. The cost has also risen over the years and two entrees and two glasses of wine and we were at 90 dollars without tip.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giorgio's Trattoria also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park

Been to Giorgio's Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Giorgio's Trattoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.