We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food but......” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Giorgio's Trattoria

Giorgio's Trattoria
219 Banff Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 0C0, Canada
403 762-5114
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Giorgio's Trattoria is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #47 of 123 Restaurants in Banff
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Transit: We are located directly in front of a public transit stop.
Description: Contemporary Italian Dishes. Hand made pasta, thin crust pizza. Fun family style dining, "share the Italian way"
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Very good food but......”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Went there on a Saturday night when everywhere else was fully booked but managed to get a table for4 without any problem. Very nice restaurant and very good staff. The food was very good but we were shocked when we got the bill as it was very expensive. If you want good food and are prepared to pay for it then this is the place to go.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

69% Recommend
    85
    122
    54
    26
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Redondo Beach, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Returned to an old favorite but disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I have been going to this place yearly for over 10years and just returned again, but was disappointed. Service was not very good, although our table had a nice view. The place was fairly empty at 6pm on a Tuesday evening. We ordered house wine which was good, and lamb and salmon. Both were way heavy on garlic and the lamb way over cooked. My wife did not wish to delay us by returning the lamb that she had requested as medium rare, but was well done. The cost has also risen over the years and two entrees and two glasses of wine and we were at 90 dollars without tip.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very good all round”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Good ambience, great service, well-prepared food and no objection raised to sharing the large main course. In addition the pungent (Turkish) olive oil was the best I have ever tasted - quite memorable. We paid 2 visits and would have gone again if not so tired after a day's skiing.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fine fare”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

For authentic Italian (not an expert lol) I recommened Giorgio's!
The pricing was moderate to high, but i have no problem shelling out for good quality dinning.
I had the grilled calimari and the Rosaline, both excellent!!!
My wife had the margherita pizza, again an excellent choice.
If i had anything negative to say, i guess it was a bit dark inside with the paint and the lighting. Again the food was fantastic!!!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Over priced for the food quality”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We have eaten here on a number of occasions over the years and never been disappointed however on this occasion we were.

We ordered starters which were very nice but the main courses, which were pasta dishes, were over cooked and bland. The main courses were over priced in our opinion and there is better food out there on the high street.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giorgio's Trattoria also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Giorgio's Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Giorgio's Trattoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.