We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good all round” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Giorgio's Trattoria

Giorgio's Trattoria
219 Banff Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 0C0, Canada
403 762-5114
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Giorgio's Trattoria is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #49 of 121 restaurants in Banff
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Transit: We are located directly in front of a public transit stop.
Description: Contemporary Italian Dishes. Hand made pasta, thin crust pizza. Fun family style dining, "share the Italian way"
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very good all round”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Good ambience, great service, well-prepared food and no objection raised to sharing the large main course. In addition the pungent (Turkish) olive oil was the best I have ever tasted - quite memorable. We paid 2 visits and would have gone again if not so tired after a day's skiing.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

68% Recommend
    75
    103
    50
    24
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fine fare”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

For authentic Italian (not an expert lol) I recommened Giorgio's!
The pricing was moderate to high, but i have no problem shelling out for good quality dinning.
I had the grilled calimari and the Rosaline, both excellent!!!
My wife had the margherita pizza, again an excellent choice.
If i had anything negative to say, i guess it was a bit dark inside with the paint and the lighting. Again the food was fantastic!!!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Over priced for the food quality”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We have eaten here on a number of occasions over the years and never been disappointed however on this occasion we were.

We ordered starters which were very nice but the main courses, which were pasta dishes, were over cooked and bland. The main courses were over priced in our opinion and there is better food out there on the high street.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Was dragged here for a family meal (kids love pasta) with low expectations given overpriced bland fare we normallyseem to encounter in this type of restaurant. How wrong I was, food was tasty, portions generous and service was friendly and efficient. Reasonably priced as well.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Great Italian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I have ate several times before and wasn't impressed so I hadn't gone back in 10 years. Wow what a change. The food was very high quality Italian. You will love it

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giorgio's Trattoria also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Giorgio's Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Giorgio's Trattoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.