We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly Good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Giorgio's Trattoria - CLOSED

Giorgio's Trattoria
219 Banff Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 0C0, Canada
403 762-5114
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Transit: We are located directly in front of a public transit stop.
Description: Contemporary Italian Dishes. Hand made pasta, thin crust pizza. Fun family style dining, "share the Italian way"
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Was dragged here for a family meal (kids love pasta) with low expectations given overpriced bland fare we normallyseem to encounter in this type of restaurant. How wrong I was, food was tasty, portions generous and service was friendly and efficient. Reasonably priced as well.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

326 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    134
    58
    28
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Great Italian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I have ate several times before and wasn't impressed so I hadn't gone back in 10 years. Wow what a change. The food was very high quality Italian. You will love it

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Too salty”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

It's is a nice establishment, with a good menu offering options beyond your normal Italian fair. The house wine was good and priced reasonably. It was busy and had a good atmosphere. Our one riding issue was every course was too salty to the point it overpowered every meal. I had the cod cakes as a starter and couldn't finish them due to this. I have read the other reviews and although some have expressed similar views the rest are generally very positive. Maybe we were unfortunate or it depends on the Chef

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

We broke a golden holiday rule and ate at this restaurant twice. The food is excellent and well priced. Highly recommend the rigatoni stuffato which has homemade lamb meatballs, calabrese sausage, a slightly spicy tomato sauce, and parmesan breadcrumbs. It is a big call for this pasta lover to say but it rates up there as one of the best pastas I have ever had. The pizza is fantastic also, thick base and topped with lots of ingredients. The house red wine is first class and the service despite being extremely busy in the restaurant was impeccable. Highly rewarding meal after a long day on the slopes. Do not miss out!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Ambiance and Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

WE have been going to Banff for years and had never eaten at Giorgio's. After checking the positive reviews, we decided to make a reservation for the Saturday night. We were not disappointed. The service was excellent, the food superb. A great meal after a day on the slopes.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giorgio's Trattoria also viewed

 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Giorgio's Trattoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.