We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casual Fine Dining” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Evergreen Restaurant and Lounge

The Evergreen Restaurant and Lounge
459 Banff Avenue | Delta Royal Canadian Lodge, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B4, Canada (Formerly Evergreen Fine Dining)
+1 403-760-6974
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 124 Restaurants in Banff
Price range: $9 - $39
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: The Evergreen Restaurant is located just a short walk from town, at the Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge. Chef Gary Dayanandan and our culinary team prepare exquisite casual fine dining fare using only the finest ingredients. The Evergreen promotes honest food that is locally sourced, and Internationally inspired. In addition we offer an ever changing fresh sheet, weekend specials, and a full vegetarian menu. For guest looking for something more than just a meal, we offer three separate function rooms and can cater to any business event, wedding, or gathering of friends. Don’t hesitate to contact us with any questions regarding what we have to offer as we look forward to hearing from our past, present, and future guest; and welcoming you, to the Evergreen Restaurant.
Vernon Hills, Illinois
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Casual Fine Dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We were staying at the Delta hotel and took advantage of the onsite restaurant when we were in a hurry or too tired at the end of the day. Not cheap, but breakfasts and dinners were very well prepared. Chef-inspired dishes and presentations. Service by the young staff was outstanding and friendly. Enjoyed the Halibut for dinner. We preferred the well prepared oatmeal and hikers breakfast over the buffet choices. If you are staying at the Delta, don't hesitate to use this restaurant - but of course - you should go out and experience other dining's facilities in town.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    33
    13
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Waiters lacking knowledge meant a poor meal.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

The situation of this restaurant was just a few minutes walk from our hotel. We were disappointed with the service. We were brought the wrong wine and when we noticed he said he had brought what he thought instead of checking with us first as our choice was not available. Our second choice was also not available but he had to go to check first with someone. We ended with just getting a glass each of something else. A waiter at a fine dining restaurant should know all about what they are serving for that night and what is not available. The food was OK but not outstanding and of a good portion size ( not huge but enough). They were constantly turning customers away despite having empty tables as they were 'getting a table of 14 in later'. To my mind being a fine dining restaurant is not just about white tablecloths.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“White Linen Cloths and Excellent Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

This restaurant has a fine culinary team headed up by the executive chef Gary Dayanandan, a thoroughly nice bloke, the food is served in the elegant dining room, the tables dressed in crisp white linen cloths. The food is prepared using local produce with an international twist, and is beautifully presented, served by a friendly efficient waiting staff. The Alberta Filet Mignon rare is superb. I had this on four occasions it was so good!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“An Overlooked Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We ate at the Evergreen twice and both times, we really enjoyed our dinner. I had the tomato soup as a starter one evening and loved it so much, I tried to get the recipe. My husband had the duck and said it was the best he had ever had. The quality of the food is excellent. It is an open kitchen and we could hear the head chef giving detailed instructions to the sous chefs to make sure the food was perfect - and it was. There are some good restaurants in town, but the Evergreen should definitely be on your list of places to dine.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Pleasant overall. Quite large portions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We started with the bruschetta with salsa cruda and a salad. Bruschetta was pizza size, and the salad was also generous.He had the prime rib and she had the elk filet. Both were excellent, again with portions large enough to satisfy anyone. Large selection of Canadian wines, but rather pricey.
The waiter was pleasant and good overall but it was clear staff are not trained in the etiquette of seating lady guests and couples. A small detail, but one which counts when discussing "fine dining".
Quite happy overall.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Evergreen Restaurant and Lounge also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to The Evergreen Restaurant and Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Evergreen Restaurant and Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.