We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Evergreen Restaurant and Lounge

The Evergreen Restaurant and Lounge
459 Banff Avenue | Delta Royal Canadian Lodge, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B4, Canada (Formerly Evergreen Fine Dining)
+1 403-760-6974
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 128 Restaurants in Banff
Price range: $9 - $37
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: The Evergreen Restaurant is located just a short walk from town, at the Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge. Chef Gary Dayanandan and our culinary team prepare exquisite casual fine dining fare using only the finest ingredients. The Evergreen promotes honest food that is locally sourced, and Internationally inspired. In addition we offer an ever changing fresh sheet, weekend specials, and a full vegetarian menu. For guest looking for something more than just a meal, we offer three separate function rooms and can cater to any business event, wedding, or gathering of friends. Don’t hesitate to contact us with any questions regarding what we have to offer as we look forward to hearing from our past, present, and future guest; and welcoming you, to the Evergreen Restaurant.
Calgary
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Service was exemplary. Food was gorgeous and fantastic. We had the smoked salmon trio for an appetizer. Beautiful presentation and the taste...oh, my! I think it would have been great if it would have been accompanied by a few slices of dark rye bread. I had the handmade linguine with seafood. Perfectly seared scallops, large tiger prawns and a tiny langostino lobster on top. Exquisite. My partner had the elk medallions and loved his dish. All in all a great experience.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    34
    16
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Probably our favorite stop during the Bon Appetit food festival!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Just delicious. The restaurant was empty at the time as we came in late and there was a snow storm, and we got to choose our seat in front of the fireplace to warm up. Daniel, the server, was amazing. Professional but extremely friendly! The other staff on the floor was great, too. Everything we ordered was amazing: confit of pork belly, bourguignonne of Alberta Angus beef... And our dessert... Traditional English toffee pudding.

Oh. My. Goodness.

Best dessert I've ever had. Period. It was amazing... We will be coming here again!! It's probably my favorite restaurant in the city, and we make a point to try new restaurants every tinge we visit.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Good food let down by service on my visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

This restaurant is in the Delta hotel a little out of town and was about to be revamped at time of my visit. With two waiting staff trying to service the dining room and a private event somewhere else in the hotel we had a disastrous meal in terms of service: huge delays, mistakes, and sheer frustration. What a pity as the food was really very good - amongst the best in our Rockies vacation. If they've got that right now (management admitted mistakes and gave compensation) and the revamp happened, this could be a good choice.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I had the Elk. It was truly amazing! Service was great, and for the quality of the food, the price was reasonable.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

A very nice restaurant in the Delta Royal Canadian Inn on Banff Ave, not our usual pick but was a very nice surprise. Excellent service and unique menu choices. Had a wonderful fire roasted tomato soup that was better than I could prepare, and freshly made fettucini with prawns and scallops cooked to perfection.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Evergreen Restaurant and Lounge also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to The Evergreen Restaurant and Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Evergreen Restaurant and Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.