We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Evergreen Restaurant and Lounge

The Evergreen Restaurant and Lounge
459 Banff Avenue | Delta Royal Canadian Lodge, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B4, Canada (Formerly Evergreen Fine Dining)
+1 403-760-6974
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #30 of 120 restaurants in Banff
Price range: $9 - $39
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: The Evergreen Restaurant is located just a short walk from town, at the Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge. Chef Gary Dayanandan and our culinary team prepare exquisite casual fine dining fare using only the finest ingredients. The Evergreen promotes honest food that is locally sourced, and Internationally inspired. In addition we offer an ever changing fresh sheet, weekend specials, and a full vegetarian menu. For guest looking for something more than just a meal, we offer three separate function rooms and can cater to any business event, wedding, or gathering of friends. Don’t hesitate to contact us with any questions regarding what we have to offer as we look forward to hearing from our past, present, and future guest; and welcoming you, to the Evergreen Restaurant.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I had the Elk. It was truly amazing! Service was great, and for the quality of the food, the price was reasonable.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    59
    25
    11
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

A very nice restaurant in the Delta Royal Canadian Inn on Banff Ave, not our usual pick but was a very nice surprise. Excellent service and unique menu choices. Had a wonderful fire roasted tomato soup that was better than I could prepare, and freshly made fettucini with prawns and scallops cooked to perfection.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Above and Beyond”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed at the Delta and went into the Lounge after a long day of appointments and we were served by the best of the best. We have not a bad thing to say about this restaurant and lounge, amazing and we will be back.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“One of our better meals in Banff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

The elk tenderloin was very good. Nice quiet restaurant and good service. It was a very busy weekend in Banff, however, we were able to walk in without reservations. This was our best meal in Banff - much better than some of the over-priced restaurants downtown.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

After trying to choose a "special occassion" place to dine, I decided on Evergreen. We were seated fairly quickly since I had made reservations. The place was pretty much empty when the 4 of us got there. The food and drink manager sat us and told us that our waiter would be there shortly. We ordered drinks. Two of us had wine and the other two ordered a drink that is very simple to make, however, since they had no bartender on duty, our server tried to make the drink. The first set was sent back. Everybody knows that "up" means with no ice and he brought the drinks mixed in ice. The second time they should have gone back too, but the couple felt sorry for him. I took a taste at the end of dinner and it was horrible. Now comes the bread and oil. At this point, our water glasses are near empty but the server does not fill them. After the oil is done for the bread, we had to ask for a refill of the oil. Again, no more water. The best part was the food. The appetizers were wonderful and the entrees were fantastic. We asked for the check and the server got that wrong too. I'm not sure if he was a server in training or what, but he did have a very smug attitude. After we got the checks corrected, the sous chef came out to see how everything was. We told him that the food was fantastic. Inside the bill was a survey and two of us immediately started to fill it out. By now, the food and drink manager came over to see how things were. We all said how much we enjoyed the food - AND? he asks, so what was wrong? He knew we were not happy. He asked what he could do to make us happy - we were not there for a comp meal or any kind of discount - so we told him that he needs to train this server who was so bad. He made a special occasion turn sour. If I would ever go back to Banff I would not hesitate to eat at Evergreen but I would not tolerate a server like the one we had.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Evergreen Restaurant and Lounge also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to The Evergreen Restaurant and Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Evergreen Restaurant and Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.