We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Banana chocolate cake” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Earls

Earls
229 Banff Ave., Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A1, Canada
403-762-4414
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 124 Restaurants in Banff
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Rovaniemi, Finland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Banana chocolate cake”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

I can't forgot my dessert! It was so good! Banana chocolate cake, it was perfect! My pasta dish was also really good at first but then the hotness came and I could taste so good anymore. My friends had some chicken salad, it looked good and it was! Servers were really nice and helpful.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    142
    35
    18
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“watch your bill”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

waitress added extra items to our bill that were not ordered. Also added 15% service charge to bill while we were only a group of 6. She proceeded to refund the ammount for the bogus items however kept the tip based on the "erroneous" higher amount. Didn't bother rectifying the second error: won't be returning. Food was bland and salad was awfull, not fresh and tasted like leftovers from previous day. OK bar but terrible restaurant.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sachq, Owner at Earls, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thanks for your feedback, I am sorry you did not enjoy visit. The service partners do not have the ability to add gratuities or to add or remove items to a bill without the knowledge of the kitchen or the leadership on the floor. I would like to investigate this further. If you could contact at ebanff@earls.ca with the day and time of your visit I can determine what had happened. In the meantime we would like to invite you back and hopefully do some thing nice for to make up for your bad experience.

Kind Regards

Ron Sachkiw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excelled on every level”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

We'd noticed this place and its menu on one of our walks around town during a stay at the Fairmont. Someone tried to dissuade us from trying Earl's because "it's a chain restaurant". So glad we went anyway. The food & service were great and the atmosphere very nice. Had the best pumpkin pie ever!! I want the recipe!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Where's the Focaccia?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Earls has always been one of our favorite restaurants when we're traveling in Canada because we can count on their high standards of food and service. The Earls in Banff carries on the tradition of quality food and excellent service. I was disappointed in my meal because apparently Earls has changed their menu and no longer has the wonderful FOCACCIA bread that I love. It has been replaced with a garlic toast that is nowhere near as good. Please, Earls, bring back the focaccia! Our waiter tried to make up for my disappointment by bringing a complimentary delicious dessert (see what I mean about the excellent service!) but if anybody in charge of the menu at Earls reads this: Please bring back the focaccia bread!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collingwood, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great server (Jill) good steak”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Although we waited forever for our table even after reserving, the food was good but the service was excellent Jill made our night with first class service and a fantastic attitude. Steaks, salmon, were all good. Chicken fingers overcooked.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Earls also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Earls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Earls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.