We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where's the Focaccia?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Earls

Earls
229 Banff Ave., Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A1, Canada
403-762-4414
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 127 Restaurants in Banff
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Kelowna, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Where's the Focaccia?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Earls has always been one of our favorite restaurants when we're traveling in Canada because we can count on their high standards of food and service. The Earls in Banff carries on the tradition of quality food and excellent service. I was disappointed in my meal because apparently Earls has changed their menu and no longer has the wonderful FOCACCIA bread that I love. It has been replaced with a garlic toast that is nowhere near as good. Please, Earls, bring back the focaccia! Our waiter tried to make up for my disappointment by bringing a complimentary delicious dessert (see what I mean about the excellent service!) but if anybody in charge of the menu at Earls reads this: Please bring back the focaccia bread!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    155
    35
    19
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Collingwood, Canada
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great server (Jill) good steak”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Although we waited forever for our table even after reserving, the food was good but the service was excellent Jill made our night with first class service and a fantastic attitude. Steaks, salmon, were all good. Chicken fingers overcooked.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Very nice meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Earls was always one of our favourite places to eat when we used to go to Banff a lot around 10 years ago, so it was always going to be interesting to see if it was still up to the same standard. It has a new downstairs bar area were we decided to go. For me the defacto standard is their ribs, so I ordered and was not disappointed. Bang on form, just how I remembered, juicy and full of flavour. Prompt service from nice staff. We will be returning before the holiday is over.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Everybody's go to Great Meal.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

You can see Earl's from Banff Ave and and smell the delicious smells over a block away, so best not walking past if hungry. You walk in through the door off the street and to your right is the bar and then a set of stairs down to a pit I'm told (joking) and a semi-steep flight of stairs to the dining area above.
There aren't any bad seats, but if you can grab a window seat as there are breathtaking views of the surrounding mountains as well as views of the street below (we caught view of a hockey game on the public ice across the street).
The waiter was polite and attentive, but didn't cross the line into the uncomfortable "hover zone". He gave us a recommendation for an appetizer which we took ordering the spicy chicken with wontons. It was a great appetizer, but on the spicy side and with portion enough for a full meal for one.
My wife ordered the fettucini alfredo and said it was well done. I ordered the rack of ribs with the Cajun chicken, side of slaw, and a side of potato salad. The ribs were fall of the bone, chicken was moist/well seasoned, and the sides were tasty. The portion with the ribs was large enough for two people and try as best as I could I was unable to finish more than half of it.
All in all great location in downtown (stairs may be a problem for some), good service, and great food. I would recommend and even though I prefer trying new places I would go back to try the chicken curry.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Good food in central location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

This was my first visit to Earls. The burgers and yam fries were excellent, with huge salad portions. Service was quite slow and the restaurant was not busy. Decor is rather impersonal but the food quality makes up for this.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Earls also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Earls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Earls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.