We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standard good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Earls

Earls
229 Banff Ave., Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A1, Canada
403-762-4414
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 123 Restaurants in Banff
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Standard good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We visited back and were as pleased or even more than last time. excellent service, even though there was a delay at the beginning. Our waitress made it up, very tentative but not too pushy, really good and not over the top as in other cases....
Food good, standard Earl's quality, we enjoyed it very much

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    171
    139
    35
    18
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
La Jolla, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Came here twice in a week”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The first time was with my wife, after finding most restaurants were closed after 9 pm. We were glad Earl's was open. Both of us had salmon (since we are in Canada), which was excellent. Came a few days later with a friend (we were attending a conference). Wanted to have salmon again, but the restaurant ran out. I had halibut, which was fine but kind of small portion for its price. The sweet-potato fries were very tasty, however. I like that the restaurant has a special on one of its cocktails everyday.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Earl's in Banff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Boring atmosphere, possibly needs to redone. Over priced menu for what you get. Salads are anyway. On the upside, Earl's food is pretty good and the entrees are a decent value.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Dreary decor and very bland food -- staff not interested”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Upstairs location so not ideal for older clients -very drab interior -could do with some plants and shrubs .

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, California
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
186 helpful votes 186 helpful votes
“Perfect salad and amazing sweet potato fries!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

A new favorite in Banff! Went for lunch...no wait...delicious food! The special grilled portobello and red pepper sandwich and sweet potato fries were great for my husband. So many fries, he let me nibble too! What a tasty treat...not too salty at all:). My field greens salad was perfect! Friendly service. Great meal. Under 25 bucks...are you kidding me? As vegetarians we actually enjoyed Earls more than the top rated vegetarian restaurant in town. Looking forward to a return and to checking out the Jasper Earls!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Earls also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Earls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Earls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.