We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food - Diverse Menu” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Earls

Earls
229 Banff Ave., Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A1, Canada
403-762-4414
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 122 restaurants in Banff
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good Food - Diverse Menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Earls is in an easy to find downtown Banff location. The upstairs is open and light with two walls of large windows. The downstairs is more of a bar area with TVs for watching sports and this is where we chose to sit. Everything was clean and the staff was friendly and efficient. The bar is well stocked and hosts a good list of mixed concoctions. The menu is diverse without being overwhelming and has well thought out choices. We started with the baby calamari with tzatziki appetizer which was a large portion, lightly battered, and minimally fried but needed a little more seasoning. Then we shared a personal sized margherita pizza and a plate of Mediterranean linguini (tomatoes, roasted red pepper, kalamata olives, feta and parmesan). The pizza is thin crust and a little dry but had good flavor. The linguini was very flavorful (luckily I like garlic!) with a bold tomato flavor and a hint of peppery heat. For dessert we had the chocolate sticky toffee pudding which was fabulous - warm and moist cake drizzled with chocolate and toffee accompanied by a vanilla bean gelato in a candy basket- don't miss this dessert but I warn you not to try to eat it yourself - very rich! We had a pleasant evening and dinner here and recommend it without even trying the steaks or burgers which is more their forte. Two cocktails and the food was about $60 which is a good value for the area.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    161
    132
    32
    15
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Good, not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Our group was looking for a dinner spot with good ambiance an menu with variety. We were steered to Earls. The service was good and the food was good, just not spectacular. I had the curry chicken which was very good. Others in my group had salmon, pasta, and a pizza. The wine was not great (probably my fault on choosing the wrong wine). The ambiance was awesome and the prices were fair.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Relaxing atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We went to Earls our last night in Banff. It has a great atmosphere, friendly staff and excellent service. We all enjoyed our meal. I had fettucine alfredo with chicken which was very good. They also had my favourite desert sticky toffee pudding so I had to try their version. It was deadly. Definitel a good choice for our last night in Banff.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Gluten free menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Earls is excellent food and each day has a daily sips menu. Great gluten free menu. Earls always is great food in great surroundings

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We really enjoyed our meal at Earls. The prices were better than some of the other places we ate at in Banff. We each had a steak and it was done perfectly. We would eat there again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Earls also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Earls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Earls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.