We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food - Diverse Menu” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Earls

Earls
229 Banff Ave., Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A1, Canada
403-762-4414
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 132 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
68 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good Food - Diverse Menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Earls is in an easy to find downtown Banff location. The upstairs is open and light with two walls of large windows. The downstairs is more of a bar area with TVs for watching sports and this is where we chose to sit. Everything was clean and the staff was friendly and efficient. The bar is well stocked and hosts a good list of mixed concoctions. The menu is diverse without being overwhelming and has well thought out choices. We started with the baby calamari with tzatziki appetizer which was a large portion, lightly battered, and minimally fried but needed a little more seasoning. Then we shared a personal sized margherita pizza and a plate of Mediterranean linguini (tomatoes, roasted red pepper, kalamata olives, feta and parmesan). The pizza is thin crust and a little dry but had good flavor. The linguini was very flavorful (luckily I like garlic!) with a bold tomato flavor and a hint of peppery heat. For dessert we had the chocolate sticky toffee pudding which was fabulous - warm and moist cake drizzled with chocolate and toffee accompanied by a vanilla bean gelato in a candy basket- don't miss this dessert but I warn you not to try to eat it yourself - very rich! We had a pleasant evening and dinner here and recommend it without even trying the steaks or burgers which is more their forte. Two cocktails and the food was about $60 which is a good value for the area.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    176
    47
    27
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
125 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Good, not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Our group was looking for a dinner spot with good ambiance an menu with variety. We were steered to Earls. The service was good and the food was good, just not spectacular. I had the curry chicken which was very good. Others in my group had salmon, pasta, and a pizza. The wine was not great (probably my fault on choosing the wrong wine). The ambiance was awesome and the prices were fair.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
117 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Relaxing atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We went to Earls our last night in Banff. It has a great atmosphere, friendly staff and excellent service. We all enjoyed our meal. I had fettucine alfredo with chicken which was very good. They also had my favourite desert sticky toffee pudding so I had to try their version. It was deadly. Definitel a good choice for our last night in Banff.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Gluten free menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Earls is excellent food and each day has a daily sips menu. Great gluten free menu. Earls always is great food in great surroundings

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
62 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We really enjoyed our meal at Earls. The prices were better than some of the other places we ate at in Banff. We each had a steak and it was done perfectly. We would eat there again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Earls also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Earls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Earls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.