We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not too pushy!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Earls

Earls
229 Banff Ave., Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A1, Canada
403-762-4414
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 124 Restaurants in Banff
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Not too pushy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We have visited Banff 6 times now and last time we found Earls! Unlike most other restaurants the staff don't constantly hang about you waiting for your drink to be half empty so they can get their next order. My husband swears they have the best hot wings in town which are half price on a Wednesday, and they also do daily deals on drinks as well. Very modern with sport playing on tv screens on the bar downstairs or a restaurant upstairs.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    144
    35
    18
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleethorpes, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Slightly put off by reviews, had a great time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We were slightly put of by recent reviews but when walking around Banff Earls looked alright from the outside so we went in with maybe low expectations. The waitress was friendly and asked us whether we wanted to sit up in the restaurant or in the bar, we chose the bar but found lots of people constantly walking past us to get to the restaurant.

The local ales were a nice addition to my meal and I was relieved to be able to find a salad in Banff. Pudding was huge, yummy but no way could I beat it.

Shame the chef kept popping into the bar for a chat with the bar staff.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I had a few minor quibbles, we went there to have a meal, but it was quire busy, so we popped in the downstairs bar, asked what beers they had on, and told they did 12, but not what 12, so we had to guess a few, before we was told they had that one. Earls do there own range so they think they might have recommended their own. Spoke to bar manager and a different server a bit later and they gave us a free sample of the different beers. Went on two separate occasions for food. The food was excellent, but we had to remind the servers on both occasions about our drinks, but apart from that i would recommend it for a meal and drink in the bar.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“One of the better Earls”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stopped on our way through Banff. The service was fast & the staff friendly. We find this one of the better more consistent Earls. It's hard to beat Earls french fries or pasta dishes!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“What you would expect from Earls”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We have eaten here so many times and have always had great service and great food. It's always busy which we think is a good sign

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Earls also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Earls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Earls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.