We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Creative Southwest Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coyotes Southwestern Grill

Coyotes Southwestern Grill
206 Caribou St, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A1, Canada
(403) 762-3963
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #21 of 120 restaurants in Banff
Cuisines: Southwestern, Delicatessen, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Dessert
Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Creative Southwest Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Coyotes looks non-descript from the outside. But once inside, it is a very welcoming restaurant. The hostess/waitress was terrific, and the manager was as pleasant as he was attentive. We had low expectations and came-up Coyotes because other restaurants were booked. But we found the food to be creative and whimsical, prepared by young chefs who were passionate about their craft. The food was terrific and we had a lot of fun. I've had a great deal of Southwestern food, but nothing like this. And in Banff of all places? The food was really good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    184
    129
    32
    13
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Food was wonderful - try the tenderloin, and veggie burger(I'm not a vegetarian, but even I liked it.). Waitress did a great job even through is was busy.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
197 helpful votes 197 helpful votes
“Mouth watering!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We went here for lunch on Labor Day weekend. They were doing a brisk business, but I suspect they do just about any day, as their food is scrumptious!!
Everything is freshly prepared, and they had no problem making substitutions. I had the BEST quesadilla I've ever had...with green chiles and avocado - oh man, my mouth is watering just thinking about it! Will definitely go back to Banff one day and hit this place more than once.
Service was friendly. It's a bit cramped in the dining area, but who cares when you're getting quality food like that? They had 2 tables on the sidewalk for people with dogs or who wanted sun, but it's not a luxurious patio by any means.
Makes me mad we wasted a dinner at Eddie Burger when this gem was right across the street.
They've been in business 20 years, and it's easy to see why. An off-the-main-street GEM!!!!!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MI
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Why not?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Southwestern menu in Banff? Great lunch menu. Tasty soups and sandwiches. Not like most of the pubs on Main St. Friendly and attentive staff.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, VA
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great Lunch...if You're Not in a Hurry”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Small place with delicious fresh lunches. Service is first class. Reasonably priced. A bit slow at noon crunch time, but what you'd expect for a tasty nicely served meal. Highly recommended!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coyotes Southwestern Grill also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Coyotes Southwestern Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coyotes Southwestern Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.