We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service Excellent Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Meatball

The Meatball
337 Banff Ave. (In the Ptarmigan Inn), Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
403-762-3667
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #80 of 125 Restaurants in Banff
Price range: $12 - $25
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: The Meatball Pizza & Pasta delivers the fun experience that dining should be. The restaurant offers great Italian inspired food, attentive servers and moderate prices coupled with a relaxed, friendly atmosphere. Our open kitchen prepares flavourful pasta dishes, stone-hearth oven thin crust pizzas, tantalizing meat and vegetarian entrees and a variety of house made appetizers and delicious desserts!
ft saskatchewan alberta
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good service Excellent Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Service was prompt and friendly. Prices were average for Banff but the food was very good. Servers were very friendly.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    48
    33
    19
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Hotel Restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Attached to Ptarmigan Inn. Very much a hotel restaurant. Food was fine but I would go out of my way to eat here

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Amazing Pasta”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

The ravioli with sweet potatoe and goat cheese was terrific! Service was good, food came quickly. Price was decent.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Went there after reading good reviews but we were not impressed. Server brought my daughter her fake chocolate milk and told us to mix it ourselves. Calamari was black it was so burnt, pizza was okay but very salty, meatballs were cold. Wine was great. Complained to the manager and he seemed to be put out by my complain. He discounted our wine which wasn't the problem and made me feel like I was being unreasonable. I never complain, and this might have been an off day for the meatball but I thought it was high priced and terrible food. Sorry.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Stopped in at the Meatball to pick up food for my 10 year old niece and myself. The staff were extremely helpful, one person saw us waiting behind a large group at the restaurant and led us up to the lounge to look at the menu and place our order there (knowing it would be a few minutes for the guys in front of us to put their order in).

We were told the food would be about 15 minutes so we took a seat in the lobby. Exactly 15 minutes later our food was ready to go!

We took our order (one lasagna and one spaghetti and meatballs) back to our hotel down the street.

The food was really delicious! Thankfully we had a fridge in our room because it was so filling we couldn't finish it all!

I see where the name comes from - the meatballs were gigantic and my niece definitely enjoyed her meal and looked forward to the leftovers.

Price was reasonable for the amount and quality of food. Will definitely eat there again next time I visit Banff.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Meatball also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to The Meatball? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Meatball, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.